A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Feeling Blue?

Another nail trend that I have fallen in love with is the ombre nail trend where you pick nail polishes of one colour, but varying shades.  The goal is to be able to create a look that fades from light to dark or dark to light.

Multi-coloured nail art

I found that in my collection, I had the best range in blue, at least for shades that seemed to do an okay job of flowing together.  They aren’t perfect by any means, but they certainly get the point across for the purposes of this post.

To create this nail look I used the following nail polishes:

Different Blue Nail Polishes

Thumb – Electrick! by Del Sol (for those of you familiar with Del Sol nail polishes, you know they change colour in the sun, this one in particular would go a light pastel green…good thing I don’t plan to go outside in the snow)

Index Finger – Sexy in the City by China Glaze (gorgeous metallic colour with green and teal undertones in certain lights)

Middle Finger – Frostbite by China Glaze (absolutely stunning rich bright blue)

Ring Finger – Art You Blue? by Fingerpaints (mystical blueish-silver)

Pinky – Up All Night by China Glaze (very dark midnight blue – NOT black)

Electrick!, Sexy in the City, Frostbite, Art You Blue?, Up All Night

From Left to Right: Electrick!, Sexy in the City, Frostbite, Art You Blue?, Up All Night

Blue Ombre Nails

Multicoloured nail art

You can certainly stop here if you like.  But if your colours don’t flow as perfectly as you like, you can try adding a coat of glitter on top to really pull them together and create a bit more of a unified look while still keeping the unique ombre affect.  I loved the bright colours on their own, especially for the coming Spring, but there is something fun and wintery about adding the coat of glitter.  I really think it makes it look a little more season appropriate.

Blue Glitter Ombre Nails

What do you guys think – better before or after the coat of Winter Wonderland by Orly?

Looking forward to hearing what you guys think!

Thanks for reading!

Shannon

Funky Nails

9 responses

  1. Isabelle

    I love the glitter effect!

    March 1, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • Me too! I really like it better than the just plain solid colours. I think it is perfect for Winter. Solids are better for Summer!

      March 1, 2012 at 7:54 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Beauty tips and samples and commented:
    Awesome!

    March 1, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  3. I actually really like Winter Wonderland over all of them! I’m super warm-toned, so something pale gold over blue might make it more wearable!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:31 am

    • I just really find the glitter softens the harsh differences between them and makes it soft but still funky. Ever since I added the glitter I find myself staring at them and thinking to myself “don’t you all look so lovely” lol You should try out greens with gold, that would be beautiful!

      March 2, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      • That’s a GREAT idea! Oh man my wallet lol

        March 2, 2012 at 1:01 pm

        • Yes yes…anything that is any fun is bad for the wallet! hehe

          March 2, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  4. Pingback: Bright Block Manicure « eyemasq

  5. Pingback: Neon Gradient Nails with Glitter « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

