A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

no sense crying over spilled…pigment

I’ve talked previously about the MAC Pro products and how they have a wide range of Pro colours and products that aren’t available at regular stores or counters.  There are only 3 locations in Canada and of course Ottawa isn’t one of them.  In December my fiancé at the time (now husband) spoiled me by bringing me back an entire custom palette of shadows from a MAC Pro store in Vegas, 12 out of the 15 shades not being available in normal stores.  This tipped me off to the secret world of MAC Pro products and the allure of just what else they might have.

So, when a couple of friends wanted to go to Toronto for the weekend to go to the Auto Show, it was an easy decision.  The guys could go for the car show and the ladies could go for the shopping!  Staying in a hotel downtown, we were nice and close to the MAC Pro store.  Located on Queen Street, it is in the middle of many other shops (both main stream and the unique boutique type).

MAC Pro in Canada, street view

It was smaller than I imagined, about the same size as any other MAC Cosmetics store.  But, when you started looking closely, it was easy to discover it wasn’t like all of the rest.  All of their Pro colours were mixed in amongst the regular shades – so knowing their main products quite well helped us determine quickly what shades were Pro and which weren’t.  They had a great deal of products for face and body painting including their Chromacake and Paint Sticks, which although the bright colours were alluring, we really had no use for.

MAC Pro Store, Canada

So we ended up gravitating towards the products we normally use and began investigating all of the new shades available.  We both purchased two pigments in the end.  My friend got Platinum and Blonde’s Gold, both gorgeous metallic shades and I got Basic Red and Copper which I will swatch below.  It’s funny, because I was going to get the gold and she the red…but as we were looking at them she accidentally spilled the entire Basic Red pigment ALL OVER herself, the floor and the chair.  The container was only about 1/3 full, but it was enough.  It covered her jacket (thank goodness it was black), her hands and the front of her pants.  (I would’ve taken a picture, but I didn’t want the employees to think we had done this on purpose as some sort of prank.)  For those of you that know MAC pigments, you know you can’t simply dust them off or give the spot a little wipe to disappear….so a very pleasant employee, with a smile, told us “Don’t worry, it happens all the time” and helped her get cleaned up.  We took her jacket outside and beat it with a broom to get the excess off, but it was unwearable for our weekend in Toronto and needed to be properly washed.  At this point, with her hands stained pink from the pigment, she was in no way going to purchase the Basic Red pro pigment.  No way to start a new relationship I suppose.  But I couldn’t see such a gorgeous colour go to waste, so we switched up our selections and it was win win.  LOL

Special Pro Pigments from MAC not available in regular storesSpecial PRO pigment swatches, not available in regular MAC stores

The only other MAC Pro products that we bought that day were from the Chromaline collection.  These are highly pigmented pots that can be used as a liner or as a base.  They came in a wide variety of colours including white, black, red, magenta, pink, yellow, light blue, dark blue, green and purple.  Although I would’ve loved to purchase all of them, I figured it would be best to start with one to make sure that I didn’t only love it…but that I would also use it.  So I went with the vibrant blue called “Marine Ultra” and my friend picked up the staple white which she can use almost daily.

Bright Blue Eyeliner/Paint Pot by MACLiner/Paint Pot in vibrant blue by MAC

Needless to say, our first MAC pro experience was one to remember.  And for those of you wondering…with one run through the wash, her red jacket was black again.  😛

I will try to incorporate these products into some looks soon so you can see them in action.

xox,

Shannon

10 responses

  1. That red pigment is stunning! I can only imagine what your friend looked like after the spill LOL

    February 29, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    • It is gorgeous, I can’t wait to actually try it out! And yes…poor Angelena…we just stared at each other like “oh my god, what the hell are we supposed to do now?” lol

      February 29, 2012 at 10:12 pm

  2. Pretty!!! im in aww of the blue in the container!

    February 29, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    • Yeah, it is a stunning colour! They were all beautiful, it was so hard to actually pick one. Something tells me that every trip to a MAC Pro store will result in one more to the collection. Where are you from? Do you have a Pro store near you?

      March 1, 2012 at 7:19 am

      • I live in the boonies of California haha so I literally have to drive 2 hours in any given direction to get to a highend department store, let alone a MAC Pro store. Thats y my channel is geared more towards drugstore products. But, I do have a list of colors I want form MAC and one day I will have them! 🙂

        March 1, 2012 at 5:42 pm

        • You can always order online and have them ship stuff to the boonies! lol

          Being in the US you are lucky because you can take advantage when companies like Urban Decay and Too Faced have sales. Unfortunately they don’t ship to Canada, so we are at Sephora’s mercy.

          March 1, 2012 at 5:48 pm

  3. Out of all the pigments Angie could have spilled, she had to choose one that has so much dramatic effect! I love Copper, but I’ve never tried any pigment myself because I know I’m so clumsy and will definitely make a mess!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Haha, you just have to be careful. I usually pull a little bit out and then close it up right away because I’m so afraid of knocking it over. But it really is easy to work with, you can apply it as light or as dark as you want. You will have it give it a try one day!

      March 2, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  4. Pingback: Toronto – Canada’s Largest City « eyemasq

  5. Pingback: MAC PRO products NOW available ONLINE! « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

