A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Viva Glam Nicki Review and Swatch

About a week and a half ago I was telling you all about the new Viva Glam lipstick that came out from MAC.  (Ricky and Nicki for MAC Viva Glam)

You should also remember that I was rushing right out to get it.  In an attempt to capture it’s colour in different settings, I have included different pictures under different lighting.  So, let’s check it out:

Nicki Lipstick Swatch by MAC

Viva Glam Nicki Lipstick Swatch with Camera Flash

As you can tell it is a definitely a bright yellow-pink satin lipstick.  It sells for $14.50 US or $17.50 CAD.  And remember, 100% of the proceeds go towards the MAC Aids Fund.  So, when I first saw this, I imagined I would never be able to pull this off, and I’m still not so sure.  I usually lean towards lipsticks with blue undertones as opposed to yellow and usually not so bright (I reserve that for my eyes!).  But once I had it on, it started to grow on me.  I do feel though, that for me, it is a colour I would have to create a look around.  It certainly didn’t go with my Sunday look of: hair in a bun, glasses on, no makeup and a big grandpa sweater.

Please take this picture as an example of WHAT NOT TO DO:

MAC lipstick swatch on lips

Bathroom Lighting, no camera flash

Focusing on the colour though, I imagine it will be just lovely this spring once my face has been sun kissed (or I can make believe with bronzer).  I always feel like you can get away with brighter makeup when bright colours are spotted everywhere you look.

Lip swatch of Viva Glam Nicki

Natural Sunlight, no flash

The texture was very smooth and felt creamy on my lips.  It also persisted quite well through my daily routine of eating and drinking.  Because it is such a light shade though this is definitely not a “throw on without looking” lipstick.  If you have darker natural lips you will need to ensure that you apply it fairly heavily at the start to get a nice clean even coverage.  Or if you have a lip erase product, that would be a great way to start as well.

And remember, if this colour doesn’t seem right for you, visit their website where you can see their Viva Glam collection.  For any of these shades purchased MAC donates 100% of the proceeds to the MAC AIDS fund.  So feel free to grab more than one!

xox,

Shannon

15 responses

  1. Jen Fodey

    Love it! I think you pull it off quite well!
    xo

    February 28, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    • Well aren’t you just the cutest my dear! Thanks for popping in! I miss you ❤ xoxo

      February 28, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  2. “Grandpa sweater” ahahaha you’re so funny xD

    February 28, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  3. i love that color! it screams spring, summer, there’ a freshness to it-and it looks great on you:)

    February 28, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    • Aww thank you Devorah! It certainly does scream Spring and Summer. I haven’t had the courage to leave the house with it considering all of the snow outside still. Hopefully in the next month or two!

      February 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      • I know exactly what you mean. But once that snow melts you’ll rock it:)

        February 28, 2012 at 7:51 pm

        • Thanks for the vote of confidence!

          February 28, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  4. Pingback: Ricky and Nicki for MAC Viva Glam « eyemasq

  5. Samira

    Love the color!

    February 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    • Thanks Samira! We’ll see if I can leave the house with it when you are here! lol

      February 28, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  6. I’ve just actually purchased this today, it looks so beautiful on you!

    March 13, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    • Perfect timing – it will be just gorgeous this Spring! Thanks for your comment and for stopping by! 🙂

      March 13, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  7. I like the lipstick and you’re nail polish!
    x

    March 31, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    • Aww, thank you! It is “Re-fresh Mint” by China Glaze

      March 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Leave a Reply

