A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Be a Beauty Insider at Sephora

For those of you who shop at Sephora you are probably already familiar with their Sephora Beauty Insiders program.  But in case this is new to you, let me take a minute to explain how it works.  It is completely free to sign up and when you do you will receive a points card.  And then, for every dollar you spend, you earn a point.

They have fairly good sized samples available as perks that you can spend 100 points on.  Or, if you feel like saving up your points, you can wait and get the 500 point perk which is a complete set of items (usually a mix and match of full size and travel size products).  The perks and rewards change frequently, so if you aren’t crazy about what you see that visit, don’t worry, the next one might be something you are dying to try.  I myself have been waiting for a few months as I wasn’t all that interested in the past couple 500 point perks that came out, but then I saw this in my email – announcing the new 500 point reward:

Sephora Beauty Insider Perk - Winter 2012

Finally!  Something I would actually use and better yet, a brand that I have little to no experience with.  So I went into Sephora yesterday to spend my 500 points and get my new kit from tarte.

Bronzer, Liptint, Finishing Powder, Eye pencil and face primer all by tarte

This is called the “Intro to Amazonian Clay try me kit” and in it you will find:

  • Amazonian clay bronzer in Park Ave Princess
  • Smooth operator Amazonian clay finishing powder
  • emphasEYES high definition eye pencil in black (full size)
  • ReCreate silicone-free primer with wrinkle rewind technology
  • LipSurgence matte lip tint in Lively (full size)

I of course wanted to do a couple of swatches for you guys in case you are debating spending your points on this perk, or simply wondering if tarte is for you.

emphasEYES high definition eye pencil, Park Ave Princess bronzer and Lively matte Lipsurgence lip tint

From Left to Right: emphasEYES high definition eye pencil, Park Ave Princess bronzer and Lively matte Lipsurgence lip tint

***Please note: the emphasEYES high definition eye pencil is actually labelled as a long wearing inner rim eye pencil.  It is extremely resistant to any and all smudging.  I actually had to go at this swatch on my hand twice with the makeup remover to get it to budge.  I can’t wait to try it out on my water line.***

swatch of LipSurgence lipstick by tarte in shade "Lively"

"Lively" LipSurgence natural matte lip tint by tarte on my lips

***I found this product really creamy, smooth and easy to apply.  I also didn’t find it drying at all, it kept my lips nice and moisturised.  And NO, this is not a one of those dreaded sticky lip products!  And to top it all off, when I removed it, my lips felt soft and smooth.  I’ll definitely be looking at their other colours next time I am in store.***

I hope you found this post informative in one way or another.  At the very least make sure the next time you are in a Sephora that you sign up for the points card if you haven’t already – and start earning your points now!

xox,

Shannon

7 responses

  1. It frightens me when I look at my points and realize the grotesque amount of money I’ve spent at Sephora. *shudder* so THAT’S why I’m so broke!

    February 27, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  2. That lip tint is fantastic! I’ve seen some bloggers review this set, and I really wish we had a Sephora here (though that can’t be good for my wallet lol)!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:36 am

    • It really is super pretty isn’t it! And it is such a nice texture to have on too. I’ll definitely be checking out the other shade options next time I’m in a Sephora. I wish you had a Sephora too, I think you would have so much fun. I can’t imagine it will be that way forever. I’m sure one will end up there and it will be like your birthday! lol

      March 2, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      • It’ll be like my birthday and Christmas rolled into one! Keep us posted about what you’re getting 🙂

        March 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

        • Of course! I am actually behind! I have a MAC purchase from a few weeks ago that I still need to talk about and swatch for everyone that has pigments, eyeliners and a lip colour. I’m such a slacker!

          March 2, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  3. Looooove tarte. I wanted to love the lipsurgence it applied so creamy but my lips felt dry not soon after.

    March 29, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

