A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

February Nail Polish Haul with an Accent

Over the last couple of weeks I have added to my nail polish collection a little bit.  Between a visit to Cosmoprof and Sally’s Beauty Supply it got a bit out of control.

Sweet Hook, Outta Bounds, Re-Fresh Mint, Electric Beat, Paper Chasing and Turquoise Shatter Nail Polish

Left to Right: Ice Pink, Totally Teal, Outta Bounds, Re-Fresh Mint, Electric Beat, Sweet Hook, Paper Chasing, Turquoise Shatter

I’ve had a chance to try out a few of the different colours already, but if there is a particular one you want to see in action, let me know and I can get some pictures up!

Light Minty Pastel Green Nail Polish

Re-Fresh Mint by China Glaze

Periwinkle Blue Nail Polish

Electric Beat by China Glaze (From their brand new Electropop Collection)

The popular nail trend of an “accent nail” is something I hand’t tried out at all yet, so I thought it was about time I did some experimenting.  My first trip on this adventure was adding some white China Glaze Crackle in Lightning Bolt to create an accent nail.  I thought this was sort of different and fun – my husband however hated it and said “It looks like a 2-year old did your nails.”  So I will let you be the judge!  (On a side note though, he hates Crackle polishes as a whole.)

Blue Nail Polish with White Crackle on Top

Electric Beat by China Glaze with an accent nail in Lightning Bolt Crackle by China Glaze

I wasn’t satisfied that the accent nail was a complete failure, despite my husbands “encouragement” and I decided to try it out with a different twist as well.  Take a look at Paper Chasing by China Glaze with Orly’s Winter Wonderland glitter polish as an accent.

Bright Green Nail Polish with Glitter on top

Paper Chasing by China Glaze with Accent Nail in Winter Wonderland by Orly

Bright Green Nail Polish with White Glitters on top

My last example of an accent nail might just be my favourite, but I can’t decide.  For this I used Sweet Hook on 4 of my fingers (also from China Glaze’s new Electropop Collection) and for my accent nail, I used Vintage Violet from Fingerpaints.

Sweet Hook and Vintage Violet Nail Polishes

Sweet Hook by China Glaze with an accent nail in Vintage Violet by Fingerpaints

Purple Manicure with accent nail

What I think is so cool too, is that the combinations are endless.  You can mix and match and take it one step further if you want by doing the coloured accent nail like above and then adding glitter to it, or a crackle nail polish!

What do you guys think?  Are you a fan of the accent nail trend?

Very interested in hearing your thoughts on this!

xox,

Shannon

14 responses

  1. wow I luv all of those colors!
    ps I also like the eyemasq header!

    February 26, 2012 at 2:43 pm

  2. Love sweet hook and refresh mint. Now that you mention it though, your hubby does have a point about crackle polish looking like a two year old’s colouring mishap…

    February 26, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    • I’ll tell him you think so, I’m sure he’ll feel fully vindicated. LOL

      Sweet Hook and Re-Fresh Mint are gorgeous, they are so springy though. I can’t wait for us to be done with winter!

      February 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      • Me too, I am so ready to ditch my winter gear. I honestly don’t know how you didn’t freeze getting married in the snow!

        February 26, 2012 at 8:03 pm

        • It was actually quite mild at only -1 and no wind chill. Besides, between the hecticness and the excitement I didn’t particularly notice the cold. LOL And everyone keeps telling us that it was the most beautiful ceremony they’ve ever been to, so we must’ve done something right! 🙂

          February 26, 2012 at 8:06 pm

        • Oh definitely, the pictures look amazing. But I would probably have frozen to death within a minute anyway haha I get cold easy 😛

          February 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm

        • I’m not much for winter normally either, I am usually complaining about being cold myself. So the idea of a winter wedding certainly came from left field…but I think you’d be amazed what you can put up with on your wedding day. Not much seems to matter at all! 😛

          February 26, 2012 at 10:36 pm

        • Haha I’ll take your word for it until I find out for myself!

          February 26, 2012 at 11:08 pm

  3. I love the accent nail trend! You’ve got some gorgeous combinations there Shannon!

    February 27, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • Thanks Sunny! I’m glad I’m not the only one that is liking this new trend!

      February 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  4. Shanee' Colon

    Hey Shannon,

    I love Sweet Hook! I just got my nails done that color yesterday. I was googling sweet hook by OPI because I could’ve sworn that she used that one on me. I see you found it by China Glaze and it looks just like it. I’m looking everywhere for it! Thanks for your helpful info, I’m glad that I stumbled onto it. Hope to hear from you with anymore info on Sweet Hook, it’s definitely a fav!

    Best,

    Shanee’

    March 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    • Hey thanks for commenting! It is a super cute colour, perfect for spring! You can grab it at an Sallys Beauty Supply store for about 5-6 dollars. Totally worth it, you won’t regret it! OPI does have a very similar colour, I remember seeing it a couple months ago. I just tried googling around to find it, but I can’t seem to.

      March 11, 2012 at 1:38 am

Leave a Reply

