A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Bright Sunshine and Lime Time!

The title of this post screams Summer to me…so it feels a bit strange to be posting this considering we got hit with a snow storm yesterday…but here we are.  🙂

A couple of months back, a fellow blogger – Tina, requested a look from the MAC Pro Palette that I got in December as a gift from my then fiance.  She wanted to see Bright Sunshine Eyeshadow and Lime Eyeshadow together in a look.

Kelly, Lime, Sour Lemon, Bright Sunshine and Golden Rod Swatch (MAC Pro Eyeshadows)

So let’s see how it turned out:

MAC Pro Eyeshadow Look, Green and Yellow Makeup Look

Bright Eyeshadows together

Look with Lime and Bright Sunshine Eyeshadows by MAC

What’s on my cheeks?  Dollymix Blush by MAC

What’s on my lips to make them look so lovely?  Oyster Girl Lipglass by MAC (Yes, it is sticky – ugh, but it persists so well through eating/drinking, etc)

Do I even have to ask which eyeliner?  No, as usual it is Blacktrack Fluidline gel liner by MAC

This look was really really simple to create.  I only used the two shades and they blend together very nicely and easily.  I’m hoping this one gives you all the courage to experiment with some brighter colours, it isn’t so scary!

Thanks again Tina for requesting this colour combination and I hope it is close to what you envisioned!

xox,

Shannon

Green and yellow makeup look (bright eyeshadows)

30 responses

  1. Samira

    Dear, I just bought 2 gifts for you to use in summer time!! 🙂
    Then, I’ll want to see a review about it. ❤

    February 25, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Oh Samira, you are too sweet! I can’t wait to try some of your Brazilian products and do reviews for all of my readers!! See you in 5 weeks!!!!

      February 25, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      • Samira

        OMG!! 5 weeks, it’s so exciting!!! Can’t wait!!

        February 25, 2012 at 5:47 pm

  2. Oooo aaahhh it’s a killer combination! Let’s hope spring and summer will come soon so you can rock this look all the time! xx

    February 25, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • Hey Sunny! Yes, I can’t wait for Spring time when I can wear sandals without signing up for hypothermia. I’m glad you liked the colour combo – this really makes me want to play with more of the MAC Pro colours to create another look full of colour. Any suggestions??

      February 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      • Hahaha hypothermia. Don’t do that!

        Something with Orange? You can do green, blue, or purple with it!

        February 26, 2012 at 10:17 am

        • Ohh, that could be fun. I actually haven’t used this orange yet. The only time I’ve done orange was in my second post ever “Yellow and Orange and Blue Oh My!”. I used the orange MUFE Pigment for it. It probably is time for an update though with a new twist! Thanks for the suggestion Sunny, I will let you know when it is done! 🙂

          February 26, 2012 at 10:22 am

  3. Looks fabulous! How do you get it to gradate so nicely?

    February 25, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    • Hi Pearlessence! I think a lot of the blending just comes naturally because these shadows are super rich and velvety. I did the first half of my lid with Bright Sunshine and the outer half with Lime..then using a fluffy brush I simply dusted a very light application of Bright Sunshine over the line until it created a soft line and I got the look I wanted. So glad you liked it!

      February 25, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      • I don’t know if the space from my lashline to my eyebrows is just too small (LOL Asian eyes), but every time I try blending, it turns out like mud instead of a gradient. Thoughts?

        February 25, 2012 at 9:27 pm

        • Can you explain the “mud” to me? I am trying to picture what is happening. Do you use a primer on your lid before applying shadows? I imagine your answer to that is yes….and if so, do you let it set for a minute first before applying, or do you start sweeping on shadow right away?

          February 25, 2012 at 9:37 pm

        • I guess I overblend or something – it all looks like one colour to me lol *shakes head* Yes I use a primer, and I wait a bit first – usually I put on concealer while I let my primer set.

          February 25, 2012 at 9:56 pm

        • I had the exact same experience when working with Quo product about a month or two ago. I did a review and created a look and mentioned the same issue. When I would blend them together, it just sort of pushed the colour around. I find that if the eyeshadow isn’t velvety enough, (more on the flaky side) it just sort of mixes together and doesn’t hold any of its true colour, or placement on your eye. Impossible to work with. So I’m not sure if that is what is happening? I don’t usually have that problem with my MAC eyeshadows really. Depending on the shades, I run into that a little bit, especially if I am using too many luster/shimmer eyeshadows, but never with matte shadows. So maybe if you use a mixture of textures in your shadows, that might help.

          February 25, 2012 at 11:02 pm

        • Okay, I will try that. If it works, I’ll be sure to brag a little 😉

          February 25, 2012 at 11:19 pm

        • I’d be super interested in seeing the results!! I wish I could try some different shadows on you and see if we could solve your mud issue!

          February 25, 2012 at 11:23 pm

        • I think part of it is just that my eyelids refuse to keep shadows on. I have tried UDPP, TFSI, Smashbox, NARS, and even NYX eyeshadow primers/bases. Nothing will make my shadow or liner stay put. Maybe my eyelids produce some crazy makeup-repellent-substance >____> haha

          February 25, 2012 at 11:26 pm

        • So you must experience fading and creasing even with the use of a primer? That makes me such a sad panda. Primers changed my whole world of makeup! I guess I should be thankful they cooperate well with my skin type.

          February 25, 2012 at 11:31 pm

        • Fading, creasing, and transferring. I got the whole package, and not it’s not a good one. I literally do get panda eyes because of it 😦 Still working to find a solution though, although I am running out of options haha.

          February 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

        • Almost sounds like there is too much moisture on your lids. I wonder if there is a base that acts more like a powder than a cream. I imagine you’ve already tried that though.

          February 25, 2012 at 11:45 pm

        • I didn’t even know something like that existed… does it?

          February 26, 2012 at 12:40 am

        • I don’t know, so I did some googling around this morning and I wanted to know if you have tried this product by NARS. http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=131714/Smudge_Proof_Eyeshadow_Base/NARS/Eyes
          The commenter describes the same problem as you and says this works for her. Just curious as to if you’ve already been down this road.

          February 26, 2012 at 9:35 am

        • Yeah, it was in the most recent NARS GWP at Sephora. I’m using it now – it’s better than UDPP for sure, but I’m still on the line about whether or not it’s better than TFSI. Still doesn’t keep my shadows on for that long though. 😦

          February 26, 2012 at 1:37 pm

        • Okay, how about Kaolin Clay or Milk of Magnesia? They are skin treatments that soak up oil. I just did some reading and it looks like people will dust on Kaolin Clay to help with oily eyelids before applying a primer. Have you tried anything like that?

          February 26, 2012 at 1:44 pm

        • Never even heard of that! I’ll google it now lol

          February 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm

        • Let me know if you end up trying it out, I am curious as to the results!

          February 26, 2012 at 2:34 pm

  4. Ohhhh girl, it is perfect!! I so wish I could pull this off but with my burgundy hair this might look a little crazy. I’m such a fan of these colors, always have been drawn to the outrageous brights. Love it Love it, thanks so much for doing this 🙂

    February 25, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    • Hey Tina! I am so glad you liked it, I was hoping it was what you had in mind. You might not be able to do the Lime eyeshadow with burgundy hair, but there are certainly other brights you could get away with and have some fun with. Ahhhh, this just makes me so excited for Spring and Summer and all the colours that come out!!

      February 25, 2012 at 9:27 pm

  5. Wow so cute and bright, these color goes awesome together’!!

    February 26, 2012 at 4:43 am

    • Hey Sparkly! Thanks for commenting – it was a lot of fun!

      February 26, 2012 at 9:14 am

  6. Pingback: How to tell if you are warm or cool toned « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

