A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

How Do You Like Your Crackle?

Looking for a way to spice up your Crackle?  How about instead of purchasing an endless range of colours…you try changing the way you use them?

***Please note: I continue to purchase an endless range of colours anyways***

Thanks to an ad in an Avon catalogue, I got the idea of creating a multi coloured nail look underneath the crackle nail polish.

Here is what I decided to use:

Sexy in the City by China Glaze – beautiful metallic jewel toned blue

Hook Up by Orly – lovely fresh spring time yellow

Sexy Silhouette by China Glaze – gorgeous jewel toned pink that gets darker and darker with your number of coats, it is a very rich shade

Black Mesh by China Glaze – crackle nail polish

China Glaze and Orly Nail Polishes

From Left to Right: Sexy in the City by China Glaze, Hook Up by Orly, Sexy Silhouette by China Glaze and Black Mesh Crackle by China Glaze

Here is what we were dealing with before I topped them with the Black Mesh Crackle:

Striped Nails for underneath Crackle polish

What was particularly great, is that you don’t have to care about perfectly straight or clean lines because you are covering it with Crackle and you won’t notice afterwards anyway.  So just slap it on and make sure you do a couple of coats so the colours are nice and vibrant.

Finished result after the application of Black Mesh Crackle by China Glaze:

Multi-Coloured Crackle Nails

A friend came over  shortly after I finished and wanting to try creating a similar look with lighter shades which resulted in a slightly different look than mine.

She used:

Fresh by Orly – a very bright apple green

Naked by China Glaze – a bubblegum soft metallic pink shade

Hook up by Orly – lovely fresh spring time yellow

Black Mesh by China Glaze – crackle nail polish

Fresh, Naked, Hook Up and Black Mesh

From Left to Right: Fresh by Orly, Naked by China Glaze, Hook Up by Orly and Black Mesh Crackle by China Glaze

China Glaze and Orly Nail Polish look

As you can imagine, the combinations are endless.  So get creative with it and have some fun!  You can create different patterns underneath, use more than three colours, change the order of colours…really the possibilities just go on and on.  So the next time you are planning to just throw on a single colour and a layer of crackle maybe you can reconsider and see what you come up with!

Tell me what you think!  Do you like this look for your nails?

blue, yellow and pink crackle

For another fun look with Crackle nail polish, please check out my previous post “snap CRACKLE pop“.  Or, if Nail Marbling is more your thing, then be sure to head to “The Art of Nail Marbling“.  (On a side note as well, I did try crackling over top of a nail marbling I did once and I absolutely hated it.  The beautiful pattern and design of the nail marbling was completely lost and the nails just looked busy as there was way too much going on.  I recommend avoiding this – consider yourself warned!)

Thanks for reading! ❤

xox,

Shann

10 responses

  1. Such a fun idea!

    February 20, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  2. Samira

    I cant’t wait to do a night with girls and nails when I arrive there!! I love this!!!

    February 20, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    • Oh my goodness Samira, every night when you are here! Can’t wait to see you my dear, we are going to have such a good time. Then, we will have to start planning my visit to Brasil!?!?!

      February 20, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      • Samira

        We can start planning this when I arrive there!! I think we will visit each other so many times!!! I’m soooo excited, only one more month!! 🙂

        February 21, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  3. Oh wow this is SOOOOOO cool!!! I haven’t got any crackle polish (I’m lazy. I consider it a lot of effort if I actually wear some nail polish lol), but I kinda want to try OPI Super Bass (royal purple crackle). Thanks for sharing Shannon!

    February 24, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    • I had all China Glaze crackles until very recently. On the weekend I picked up my first OPI Shatter, but haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. It is the “Turquoise Shatter”. I will try to use it soon, maybe it will help push you over the edge!

      February 24, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      • LOL You should! I’m really bad at nail art, but this looks simple… enough (I hope)!

        February 24, 2012 at 4:22 pm

        • It really is very simple. It’s pretty fool proof!

          February 24, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

