A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Butterfly Party

Even though the Butterfly is a flying insect it never gets lumped into the “Ugh, I hate bugs!” category.  No one ever freaks out when a butterfly is fluttering past and certainly no one reaches for the closest swatter.  I think a large part of this, at least to me is the inviting colours commonly associated with butterflies.  Especially as a little girl when I was growing up, I thought they were gorgeous and would chase them around…but a moth on my bedroom ceiling while trying to sleep would make me cry until my Dad would come and force it to fly into another room of the house.  Butterflies are certainly one of the most beautiful insects known to man if not the most beautiful.

Butterfly 003 wallpapers and stock photos

MAC Cosmetics just came out with their Spring line and it is filled with vibrant colours.  A lot of neon and bright shades for lips, cheeks and eyes – but what drew me in was these Crushed Metallic Pigments.  They had three selections of different colour combinations.  I picked up the set called “Butterfly Party” Friday night (while engaging in what could only be described as “retail therapy”).  And after having a chance to play with this product I couldn’t be more tempted to go pick up the other two sets as well – Aloha and Strawberry Patch.  They retail for $40.00 CAD each set of 4.

MAC PIgments

Not only are the colours beautiful, but the packaging is super cute as well.  They screw together and you can keep them in a tower of four, or two sets of two.

MAC Pigments in Purple, Blue and GreenGreen, Purple, Pink Pigments by MAC

This product is so beautiful and so fun to take pictures of, I could do this all day!  All the more reason to pick up the other shades next time I am at the mall… (see, I have zero willpower)

Swatch of Butterfly Garden Crushed Metallic Pigments by MACMAC Crushed Metallic Pigments

So the whole Butterfly thing inspired me to try something new and something very different.  I used Desert Cloud Crushed Metallic Pigment all over my lid and Rain Drop Crushed Metallic Pigment through the crease and out the side of my eye.  I only did one eye because I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out.  It’s certainly a bit sloppy, but not awful for a first try.  I definitely look forward to playing around with this sort of look again.  Let me know what you think!

Face Art with MAC PigmentsFace Art with MAC Crushed Metallic Pigments

I found these pigments creamier than regular MAC pigments, I have a feeling they would actually apply really nicely with just your finger as an applicator.

***Also, for this look I used Dollymix Blush by MAC on my cheeks and Heather Moon Long Lasting Lipstick by Clinique.  For the Black, I used just an inexpensive drugstore liquid liner and Clinique’s Lash Doubling Mascara on my lashes.***

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

xox,

Shann

Look with MAC Crushed Metallic Pigments

12 responses

  1. Thanks so much for liking my post! Your blog looks great as well, keep up the good work!

    February 13, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  2. Sarah Jordan

    I like your makeup, even though I am one of those rare anti-butterly people. Moths terrify me. The fluttering of dirty wings…shudder. But you do gorgeous work!

    February 13, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    • Thanks a lot ladies! This look with the butterfly was certainly out of my comfort zone, but I’m glad you liked it. As for the whole moth thing – yeah, I’m on board. They’ve scared me since I was little. I’m glad I’m not alone. lol ❤

      February 13, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  3. Really pretty look and the Strawberry Patch set also has my attention!!

    February 14, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    • Thanks Tina! I have to try and stay away from the mall, because my lack of will power will definitely result in the purchase of another set!

      February 14, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  4. I’m all for retail therapy. And I love your butterfly eye makeup design!

    February 15, 2012 at 10:47 am

    • Thanks Boston! The only trouble with retail therapy is that I like to engage in it a little too often!

      February 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  5. Pingback: Feeling Flirty? « eyemasq

  6. I don’t know how I missed this post, but WOW! I adore the colors and the butterfly you drew! Very very elegant and artsy!

    March 3, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • Thank you Sunny! The colours are so gorgeous, I love these pigments! Not sure how I can avoid Strawberry Patch at this point lol

      March 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm

  7. Pingback: A Special Green Showcase for St. Patrick’s Day « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: MAC Pigment Swatches « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

