A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Make Yourself Up with MAC

After so much positive feedback in regards to my post about my MAC Pro Palette, I figured it was definitely time to share some of my other MAC eyeshadows.  So I decided to post about another palette of mine that I have compiled over the last two years.  As you can see, it has a wide range of colour, but a lot of them are very flexible and work well with neutrals as well as other mid-tone shades or even brights.

Jewel Tone Eyeshadow

I also want to talk about the MAC palettes a little bit and make sure people know how the palettes work with MAC.  From any MAC store (not available at counters at the Bay) you can buy the empty palettes in sizes of either 2, 4 or 15 and then you can buy the refill pans that are labelled on the back and magnetized on the bottom so they don’t fall out.  They are less expensive than purchasing the little shadow pot of each colour too.  The only thing is, you can’t recycle them for the “Back to MAC Program”.  This Back to MAC program allows you to trade in 6 empties for one new product (either a lip stick or an eyeshadow).  So the extra money you spend on the pots does have a little reward, but much much later once you have used up the entire product (unless you melt them out and put them in either a MAC palette or a Z Palette).   But, here is the thing.  The value of the “free” product is still less than the money saved by purchasing the palettes and pans.  Not to mention, they are more convenient when all in a palette together as opposed to having a 45 individual eyeshadows mixed together in a pile, taking up a huge amount of space.

MAC Eyeshadow Palette

So, let me break this down for those people cruching numbers in their heads right now and seeing if I am right.

Let’s say we were going to buy 15 individual eyeshadows.  They are now $18.00 each (CAD).  You are looking at $270.00.

Let’s say we were going to buy a palette to hold 15 shadows as well as 15 eyeshadow pans.  The pans are $14.00 each and the palette itself is $17.00.  So it works out to a total of $227.00.

So for an extra $43 you get the privilege of getting “free” products through the recycling program.  So with 15 colours, you would eventually earn 2 free eyeshadows.  But to benefit from this, you would actually need to use them until their is nothing left, or melt out the pans and turn in the plastic.  Seems like a lot of extra work if you ask me.  I would rather take my $43 and go buy my extra eyeshadow or lipstick when it’s convenient.  Okay – so that is my rant. I love the palettes and refill pans.  The magnets are amazing and they never fall out.  Not to mention, they are super easy to swap around if you are travelling and want to change up what colours you are taking with you.

But anyways, let’s take a look at the actual shades:

Satellite Dreams, Parfait Amour, Humid, Swimming, Brill, Pink Venus, Cranberry, Club, Steamy, Bitter, Shale, Blackberry, Deep Truth, Freshwater, Aquadisiac

***Please note that all of these colours are currently available with the exception of “Brill” it is an old limited edition shade from a MAC collection in 2002.***

I would say this is the palette I use the most out of my MAC collection.  I have another full palette of neutrals that I haven’t featured on Eyemasq yet that does get a fair bit of use.  But I find the above shades let me have some fun with rich jewel toned colours without going completely over the top with the colours in my MAC Pro Palette.

MAC Pink and Purple Eyeshadow

MAC Eyeshadow Swatch

Purple and Red Eyeshadows by MAC

MAC Eyeshadow Swatch

Green and Blue MAC Eyeshadows

MAC Eyeshadow Swatch

Green and Blue Eyeshadows by MACMAC Eyeshadow SwatchCitrus MAC Eyeshadows

MAC Eyeshadow Swatch

And I of course, couldn’t post about all of these eyeshadows without showing them in a look as well.

MAC Eyeshadow Look with Pink venus, Satellite Dreams, Steamy and FreshwaterMAC Look with Pink Venus, Satellite Dreams, Steamy and Deep Truth Eyeshadows

For this eyeshadow look from this palette, I used Pink Venus, Satellite Dreams, Aquadisiac, Steamy, Deep Truth and Brill as my highlight.

Pink Venus, Satellite Dreams, Steamy and Deep Truth Eyeshadow Look with MAC Eyeshadows

*Please also note that I used Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC for eyeliner, Unchanging MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour, Sephora Triple Action Mascara, Dollymix Blush by MAC as well as Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC to fill in my brows.  I am also wearing Ardell False Lashes in #105.*

For another one of my favorite looks from these shades, which is really simple, check out my look “Plum Fun” which features both Shale and Blackberry eyeshadows from this palette.

I hope I’ve convinced you to start your very own MAC palette if you don’t already have one.  I started with 4 colours and never looked back!

xox,

Shann

Aquadisiac, Bitter, Steamy and Freshwater eyeshadows in a palette

18 responses

  1. Ah, I see you own Humid and Steamy! Although I think I like Aquadisiac more, it is so pretty. Haven’t been following long, but it seems that you are a huge MAC fan 🙂 I only own 3 MAC things – the two shadows, and my very first purchase was a Powerpoint pencil in Buried Treasure. Considering trying Blacktrack Fluidline sometime, but I own way too many gel liners already!

    February 11, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    • Yes, my MAC addiction is very real. lol

      What are your favorite gel eyeliners that you use?

      February 12, 2012 at 1:25 am

      • I don’t have a favourite per se, because no liner really stays put on me for long, not even the ones most raved about. I have Bobbi Brown, MUFE, Smashbox, Tarte, Clinique, Maybelline gel/cream liners. I usually reach for the BB because it’s closest haha

        February 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  2. You’ve got a GORGEOUS palette there Shannon! I only own Shale, Satellite Dreams, and Humid out of the entire palette, but I love love love all the colors you have there!

    February 12, 2012 at 10:17 am

    • That is how it starts Sunny! About a year and a half ago I went in and bought 4 colours – Mulch, Honey Lust, Phloof! and Goldmine. And then everytime I was at the mall, I would buy just one or two colours, and pow – now I have over 50! (In all fairness, 15 of those were a gift…) lol

      February 12, 2012 at 10:39 am

  3. I started out with the Clinique one and then moved to the MAC fluidline. Both very similar I find though. Perhaps I will give the Bobbi Brown one a try next time. Do they have a wide colour range available?

    February 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    • I am going to assume this was a response intended for me 😛
      Bobbie Brown gel liners come in blacks, browns, blues, purples, and green (sounds like a bruise, lol). They show 13 different shades on their US website, but to my knowledge, you can only get Bobbi Brown products at counters at Holt Renfrew. Which is just so darn inconvenient. 😦

      February 13, 2012 at 2:18 am

      • Yes – sorry Pearlessence – for you!

        We don’t have Holt Renfrew in Canada, but I just checked and they are available at Sephora here. I think I will have to try it – perhaps in a colour other than black so I can add some variety. Thanks for your input!

        February 13, 2012 at 10:15 am

        • They have it at Sephora?! I have NEVER seen BB in Sephora… I know there are only two Holt Renfrew’s in Toronto. Where are you from, fellow Canadian? 🙂

          February 13, 2012 at 11:27 am

        • I don’t remember seeing it at Sephora either actually, but it shows up on their website, so I am certainly going to look next time I am there. Perhaps it is a new addition to their many lines.

          As for Holt Renfrew, I should’ve known that they were in Canada, and just not in Ottawa. The shopping in Ottawa is SO BAD! I moved here 2 years ago from Calgary and it was certainly a demotion on the shopping front. Thank goodness Montreal is only 2 hours away!

          February 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm

        • You’d expect that there would be lots of shopping to accompany the sightseeing in the nation’s capital. But no. *shakes head* I didn’t know Montreal was a good place to shop.

          Bobbi Brown is on Sephora’s website because they are available in the States. We don’t have it here (yet – let’s keep our fingers crossed!) and we can’t order anything via Sephora, either. Yeah, I’ve tried. 😦

          February 13, 2012 at 12:16 pm

  4. On a side note, a place I have physically seen Bobbi Brown is Murale. We have two of them here in Ottawa and you have one in Toronto according to their website.

    February 13, 2012 at 12:27 pm

  5. love those colors and this look, really beautiful!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:18 am

    • Thank you Amanda, I love my MAC shadows, they are so easy to work with.

      March 2, 2012 at 12:27 pm

  6. Pingback: MAC Pigment Swatches « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: Feeling Dramatic? (eye makeup tutorial) « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: Feeling Earthy? (a rainforest makeup tutorial) « eyemasq

  9. Pingback: Date Night Makeup « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

