A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

You May Now Kiss The Bride

MAC lip product is something I have mostly stayed away from, until now.  My obsession for coloured lip product seems to be just starting.

Generally speaking the MAC Lipglass/Dazzleglass all have a very long wear time, but it comes with a very sticky price.  They will last through drinking and eating, but not without that super goopy feeling that your hair just loves to get stuck in.

In my search for the perfect wedding lipstick, I came across MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour.  (Don’t let the “Pro” in the name throw you off, these are available at all MAC counters and MAC Stores).  I wanted a lipstick that would persist through the whole day, something that I wouldn’t need to apply before each picture or after every sip…and more importantly, something that wouldn’t leave my groom looking like he was covered in lipstick.

Unchanging, For Keeps and Perennial Rose Reviews

The helpful consultant at the MAC store said this was the only way to go.  You apply the colour (Carufully!  It sets quickly and you won’t simply be able to wipe it off.  Be conscience of your actual lip line) let it set for a moment with your lips apart and then once dry, you simply top it with the gloss.  As the day or night goes on, the colour won’t smudge or wear off.  The only thing you need to worry about is reapplying gloss to keep your lips feeling fresh and moist.  And don’t worry, they sell the clear gloss separately as well, so when you run out of it before the colour, you can purchase a gloss refill individually.  Genius!

Long Lasting, Smudge Proof Lipstick

I ended up wearing “For Keeps” MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour for our outdoor winter wedding and I couldn’t have been happier with how it went.  I wasn’t worrying about needing touch-ups or if it had smeared all over my face while eating.  And James didn’t need to worry about his lips being coloured after all of the clinking glasses.  I highly recommend this product for anyone wanting a low maintenance lipstick for the moments in their lives when lipstick should be the last thing on their mind.

For Keeps MAC Pro Longwear LipcolourFor Keeps MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour

Since the wedding, I’ve actually found myself using these on a fairly regular basis.  I can apply the colour in the morning before work and only need to touch up gloss after lunch.  And for all of the in between moments, my lips look fresh like I just applied lip product.  My only complaint about the MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour is that I wish it came in more shades.  I certainly hope this is a line they expand.  For a look at all of their shade options, click here.

***To remove, you will need to use a makeup remover.  It resists if you simply try with kleenex and water.***

I love this product so much, I just had to do full swatches and images for you all.  But first, lets take a look at my bare lips with no product:

For Keeps MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour

Long Lasting, Smudge Proof Lipstick

For Keeps MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour Swatch

Unchanging MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour

Long Lasting, Smudge Proof Lipstick

Unchanging MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour Swatch

Perennial Rose MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour

Long Lasting, Smudge Proof Lipstick

Perennial Rose  MAC Pro Longwear Lipcolour Swatch

I would love to hear from all of you.  I’m curious if any of you have a different solution for long lasting lips that you would like to share?

xox,
Shann

P.S. This is just the start of sneaking wedding pictures onto Eyemasq.  There will be many more to come! ❤

 

wedding outside in the snow

7 responses

  1. aww, great pix and i would definitely try that! i always wondered: what do they use in the movies for kissing scenes?!? they must have an amazing trick up their sleeves;)

    February 5, 2012 at 6:23 pm

  2. Either an amazing trick or just expensive lipstick! 🙂

    Thanks for commenting Devorah!

    February 5, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  3. Pingback: All About Eyes Palette « eyemasq

  4. Pingback: Make Yourself Up with MAC « eyemasq

  5. I love these shades! They’re definitely very classy and wedding/everyday-friendly. I’m not that big of a lip-color person (yet), but I might have to take a look at these!

    February 12, 2012 at 11:23 am

  6. I believe my addiction for lip products is just starting. I used to always just use inexpensive lip glosses. But I got tired of applying them seven million times a day, so I am slowly making the move to lipsticks. I actually just got some Clinique lipsticks on Friday. I will do a post for my Clinique Haul this week!

    February 12, 2012 at 11:46 am

  7. Pingback: 10 Gorgeous Lipsticks for Fall « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

