A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Glitter Gradient Nails

I wanted to share another really easy but fun nail style.  The gradient nail trend is super popular right now and can be created many different ways.

Orly Liquid Vinyl and China Glaze Some Like it Haute

 

 

 

Glitter Gradient NailGlitter Gradient Nails

For this, I used Orly’s Liquid Vinyl Nail Polish as my solid colour of choice.  It is very black and high gloss finish.  Then I tried to create a Glitter Gradient look where it is heavy glitter at the tips and fades out as it gets closer to the cuticle.  To achieve this look start with your solid colour and apply 2 coats to your complete nail.  Then you want to use your glitter of choice (for me it was Some Like it Haute by China Glaze) and apply a single coat to the tip of your nail.  Don’t re-dip your brush – just simply drag the brush down across your nail gently – spreading the glitter thinly across the solid colour portion of your nail.  If you find that you spread it too heavily and the gradient look is lost, simply take your solid colour and with very little polish, dust it on the bottom half of the nail (on top of the glitter) to thin out the glitter coverage in order to achieve the fading look.

Glitter Gradient NailsGlitter Gradient Nails

All of the above pictures were taken before I applied a top coat.  Even if you don’t generally top coat your nails, I highly recommend it for this style.  I wasn’t planning on using one, but once I touched my nails, I felt it was necessary.  The glitter is very gritty and feels rough to the touch, so by adding a top coat you get a much smoother nail.  You can still feel the texture from the glitter, but it is mostly smooth to the touch.

For top coat, my go to is Orly’s Nail Lacquer in Clear.  It is described as a fast drying, long lasting, high gloss nail lacquer.  All of the below pictures are with the top coat.  Unfortunately because it makes them shinier, it also made them slightly harder to get a picture that captures their true look.

Top Coat Nail Polish

Black Nails with Glitter

Black Nails with Glitter

Anyways, I hope you all enjoyed this nail look and have some fun trying it out!

xox,

Shannon

One response

  1. Samira

    Try this with a little sponge. I did and was great!

    January 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

