A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

snap CRACKLE pop

After a few more nail posts, you should be able to tell that I am a big China Glaze follower.  I love their nail polish!  They have a huge range of colour, including mattes, glitters and metallics.  They also go on rich, creamy and smooth.  And just like eyeshadow  – that makes me happy!  What I love most about Crackle Nail Polish, is you can add it to your nails after 2-3 days when they start to look tired and it makes them look brand new, like you just redid your nails.  Which you sort of did…but with just one easy top coat!  This is certainly my most common use of the Crackle line of polishes.

Coral Star, Silver, Black Mesh Crackle

Coral Star, Silver, Black Mesh Crackle

Saturday night I painted my nails with Coral Star Nail Polish by China Glaze and today they started looking a little weak.  They definitely needed some touching up.  So rather than just piling on more of the same shade, I had a little fun and added some Crackle Nail Polish to refresh my nails and change the appearance – without all the work of starting from scratch. I love also using the Stripe Rite products to finish the look with a nice clean line across the bottom edge of the Crackle polish.

Half Crackle Nails

Black Crackle Nail PolishThin Nail Polish Brush

If you have never used Crackle Nail Polish before, I have a couple words of caution for you.  You might have to play around with it a bit to find the right amount to apply.  If you apply it too thin, it will look stupid (you can’t just apply more on top either).  If you apply it too thick, it won’t crackle properly and will look more like a solid colour on top with a single line through it.  But after one or two nails, you should have it down!

Let me know what you think of this nail style – I want to hear from you!

xox,

Shann

13 responses

  1. Kelsey

    Love this! It honestly never occurred to me to only use crackle on the top half! Fab!

    January 10, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  2. Glad you liked it Kels! You can also do just the tips and straight across like a french manicure – that looks great too. I might do that next time so people can see the different styles – and it is all so easy!

    January 10, 2012 at 8:01 pm

  3. Samira

    China Glaze is in my shop list, for sure. Here it’s very expansive.

    January 10, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  4. CAROLINAMS

    I love this look! where did you get the silver polish.?

    January 10, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  5. I get 99% of my polishes at Sally’s Beauty Supply (including the silver Stripe Rite). They are a great source for salon quality polishes. http://www.sallybeauty.com/

    January 10, 2012 at 10:11 pm

  6. i totally agree that crackle polishes are tricky, you described the pitfalls perfectly. im not a huge fan of them myself. nice way to freshen up a solid colour after a few days of wear tho, good idea.

    February 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    • Thanks for commenting c8snails! I have several of the “Crackle” polishes, but I rarely go out of my way to use them. Like I said, it is usually just to freshen up an existing manicure. When I feel like something really fun, I just marble my nails. It is super rewarding and you get different results every time. I just love it! Have you tried it?

      February 16, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      • YES! i love how it looks and people are always blown away and can’t understand how it did it!! haha. but honestly i cant figure out the right formula of water temperature+nail polish viscosity to get it right consistently. ive tried it at least 3 times, had successful results 1x. (that time, i used 5 colours of the same brand, all brand new, no glitter. i find this was essential). other than that i always get thick clumps of polish and it doesnt work and i have to take it off. tips?

        February 16, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  7. I’ve found that metallic colours work best. Stay away from glitters as you know and bright neon colours as well (I find they tend to dry too fast in the water).

    I like to use water no warmer than room temperature – usually going cooler than that. Whenever I have any issues with colours spreading properly, I make my water colder.

    In my experience, if you are getting thick clumps of polish, your rings are too small in the water. You want them to spread out very large so each circle is nice and thin. Make sure you are doing several circles and that they are spreading out nice and far each time – like this: https://eyemasq.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/img_3568.jpg

    If your drops aren’t expanding out that far, make your water colder and if it still isn’t spreading, try a different colour. Also, you want your nail polishes to be a nice texture, not super runny and not chunking up. If you need to, add some polish thinner (nail polish remover works as well) to your bottle and give it a good shake. You want to be able to get big healthy drops of polish to come out nice and easily.

    Oh, and one more thing. Make sure you have all your colours out and bottles ready to go with their tops loosened. They start to dry really quickly in the water. So when you start dropping them in, go quickly!!

    Sorry for rambling! I hope you find something here helpful!

    February 16, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  8. Pingback: How Do You Like Your Crackle? « eyemasq

  9. this i such a super cute idea!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:16 am

  10. Deanna

    I bought my SILVER ONE from a Pharmacy NSW,its made buy CORAL
    I liked it when i seen it work on 3nails out of 10…….NOT HAPPY as I bought 2 bottles& the MORONE Is not CRACKLING at all……WHAT COAT DO WE PUT ON OUR NAILS BEFORE ADDING THE crackle
    WHO DO I MAKE A COMPLAINT TO ABOUT MY crackle AS WE SHOULD BE GIVEN AT LEAST A BOTTLE OR 2 OR JUST THE BASE&TOP COAT AS WE WAIST IT TRYING TO WORKOUT HOW TO USE THE gluggy stuff

    April 17, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

