A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

For Better or For Worse?

During my time off between Christmas and New Years I made my way to Sephora for my free wedding consult (I had a coupon to waive the $50 purchase).  So with a girlfriend in tow we headed downtown to see what look they would come up with.  To sum things up, I absolutely loved what Emily from Sephora did with my skin but I wasn’t sold 100% on the eyes.  I don’t own foundation and usually don’t wear anything on my face, and if I do it is a tinted moisturizer and a light powder.  So I didn’t want anything cakey, but I was looking for nice even coverage that would photograph well and last all day.

Wedding Makeup

She used Makeup Forever HD Foundation on my skin and I absolutely loved it.  I have since tried to purchase my shade (118) twice since then and both locations were sold out.  For my eyes she used Too Faced Brown Eyeshadows to create an ombre eye makeup look where it starts out very light and fades to dark rather than the conventional smokey eye.  I did like this look but it didn’t really grab me enough for the wedding I don’t think.  More importantly when my fiance saw it, he said “Meh, it’s okay.  I’ve seen you do better” so that definitely soured my opinion of it.  I think false eyelashes, which I plan to wear for my wedding, would’ve made a huge difference with this look.

Sephora Wedding Makeup

So when we arrived home, the brainstorming began of ways to spice the look up a little and make it a bit more “me”.  Using a touch of Club Eyeshadow by MAC and mostly Envy Eyeshadow by Makeup Geek I darkened the entire outer eye and used Retrospeck Eyeshadow by MAC to help blend the smokey forest green across the eye but keep the inner portion nice and light.  This is a very shimmery look, so I am a little concerned about how well it would photograph on a big day like my wedding.  And I am aware this is certainly a more dramatic look than the majority of bridal makeup out there, but it also feels and looks more like me.

Envy and Retrospeck Eye Makeup

Envy and Retrospeck Smokey Eye

What do you all think of these two?  And please let me know how you guys feel these two looks compare to the two I previously showed in the post “I Do?“.

The day is nearing closer, I need your help!!  

xox,

Shann

12 responses

  1. Suzie

    LOVE what you did at home 🙂 very much You.

    January 9, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  2. I love the way that bronze and copper tones look on you from the other look. And I think they’d look great with an emerald green dress. You’re a beautiful girl, so whatever you wear will be stunning, but I think copper and bronze definitely suits your skin tone and the dress. can’t wait to see those wedding pics.

    January 9, 2012 at 8:30 pm

  3. Suzie – did you like it better than the ones from “I Do?” with the browns?

    Beautyisvain – thank you for commenting. You are far too sweet! Bronze makeup does look beautiful with green, if I go with that one though, I will have to be careful to not make it too golden because of all my silver/white gold jewellery. Or maybe I am crazy and it would look fine?

    January 9, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  4. Ashley

    I love what you did at home looks awesome!

    January 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  5. Wow, this looks very pretty! Then so do the other looks so it’s a tough one for me. While you want to be conscious of how it will look in photos, it’s like you said it’s best to go with what’s most “you”. When you look back on the photos you don’t want to be thinking you don’t look like yourself! Great blog, look forward to more looks 🙂

    January 10, 2012 at 6:11 pm

  6. Jen Fodey

    I like these last two pics best. Including the I Do pics. I went with smokey/shimmery eyes for my wedding too and the pics turned out fine :)So excited for you hunny! So sad I can’t be there. Love you! xoxo
    -Jen
    P.S – I’m hooked on reading your blog now

    January 10, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  7. Your skin and cheeks look really nice in the first look, paired with the more dramatic eyes you did this will be a perfect wedding look. No matter what you end up doing, I’m sure it will be gorgeous.

    January 10, 2012 at 6:16 pm

  8. Thanks everyone for commenting! I can’t say enough how much I appreciate the input and feed back. You guys are the ones that make this blog so much fun, otherwise I would just be talking to myself!! So thank you!

    January 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm

  9. Hey Shannon,

    I love all the looks, but for an emerald green dress I think something warmer would work better. I like what the Sephora lady did because the gradation of different shades is smooth and natural. I don’t have a crease myself so I am not the best one to make judgement, but I do think a very dramatic crease shade could look a bit surprising when you are not looking at the camera. For your big day, I would imagine the photographer would be taking pictures of you from a lot of different angles, so maybe you would want to take that into consideration. What do you think?

    However, I do think you have eyes that can handle more makeup, and if you feel more like yourself doing something a bit dramatic I think that is the way to go! There is no point feeling unlike yourself on your big day just because everybody else does it this way, and whatever you end up doing I’m sure you’ll be a beautiful beautiful bride!!!

    Sunny xx

    January 11, 2012 at 3:49 am

  10. Hi Shannon! I did my own makeup for my wedding and if you feel it in your gut that you love it, then go for it. It’s like putting on a dress that fits perfectly You look gorgeous! The only thing I can see is maybe smooth the edges of the shadow to make it a bit more natural…but otherwise go for what you want. xo, Natalie

    January 19, 2012 at 4:35 am

  11. Sarah Jordan

    I definitely think your eyes needed more pop than the Sephora look…you did a great job spicing it up 🙂

    February 5, 2012 at 11:49 am

  12. Pingback: Makeup Geek « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

