A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

It’s Not Easy Being Green

One of my bridesmaids and her mother held a Bridal Shower for me yesterday.  This meant a lot to me.  Seeing as I am not from here originally, none of my family lives here in Ottawa and my Maid of Honour lives in Alberta as well.  So they were sweet enough to make sure I still got a shower – they deserve a big huge thank you!!  It really was a special day – thanks to all who were able to come!

Keeping with the theme of an Emerald Green wedding dress I gave myself some dramatic green eyes.

Green Eye Makeup

Green Eye Makeup

Green Eye Makeup

What I used for this look:

Skin > I applied Clinique’s Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer in Shade 01 all over my face and then sealed the look with MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Light Plus.

Cheeks > Benetint Lip & Cheek Stain by benefit

Lips > I started with Benetint Lip & Cheek Stain by benefit that I used on my cheeks and then topped the look with Buxom Lips Bare Escentuals in Leslie

Eyes > Primed with Mary Kay’s Eye Primer.  Then I applied Kelly Eyeshadow (a MAC Pro colour) all over my lids, blending up just slightly into the crease.  Then, using Humid Eyeshadow by MAC, I hit the crease (and slightly up onto the brown bone) as well as the outside of my eye.  Wanting to intensify the look further, I used Black Tied Eyeshadow by MAC (a black eyeshado with silver sparkles) to the outside corner of my eye and through the crease as well, leaving a hint of Humid throughout.  To soften the look slightly and bring it all together, I lightly dusted Forgery Eyeshadow by MAC (a very soft silver) with a very fluffy brush  all over the lid to blend and soften.  Using Forgery Eyeshadow again, I highlighted the inside corner of my eye as well as the brow bone. Underneath my eye, I recreated the same fading look using Black Tied, Humid, Kelly and Forgery.  I then used Blacktrack Fluidline by MAC as my eyeliner on both the top as well as my waterline.

Brows > As always, I used Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC to fill them in.

Lashes > Hotties by Ardell

This look was a lot of fun and can be recreated with any colours you like.

Green and Black polka dot cakeToilet Paper Wedding DressToilet Paper Wedding Dress

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend – I sure did!!

xox,

Shann

Green and Black Eye Makeup

11 responses

  1. What a fun look! It’s always challenging to pull off green eyeshadow for a daytime look. I love the Hotties Ardell lashes on you! I’ll have to pick some up to try them out myself, hehehe… Looks like you girls had fun at the bridal shower!

    Please excuse me while I browse the rest of your blog…. =P

    January 8, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    • Thanks Ashlyn! I hope you like what you find in the surrounding posts. I’m following your blog as well now. looking forward to your next post!

      January 8, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  2. Ahhh Shannon, you must be super duper excited about your big day! I love your color of choice, the makeup, and the fact that your girlfriends organized a lovely bridal shower for you!

    Have you decided what you’re going to wear on the big day itself? Are you doing your own makeup or do you have a professional take care of it?

    January 9, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • Haven’t decided yet! I did a consult at Sephora and am considering doing one at MAC as well. I have some pictures to post soon. I am comfortable doing my own eyes, but I usually don’t wear much if anything on my skin, so I would like to have my skin done professionally I think…so I’m torn. I will keep you updated!

      January 9, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  3. Pingback: MAC Pro Eyeshadows « eyemasq

  4. really cute hairdo and make up 🙂

    February 6, 2012 at 8:34 am

  5. loving these greens as well! really awesome pigments in all of your looks and shadows! Loving your blog!

    March 2, 2012 at 9:25 am

    • I have such a weakness for green, sometimes I probably go a little overboard but I don’t care too much. haha Thank you for your sweet comments!

      March 2, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      • not at all i thought it was really nice the greens not too much at all

        March 2, 2012 at 12:38 pm

  6. Pingback: A Special Green Showcase for St. Patrick’s Day « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

