A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Where do you draw the line?

The other day I entered into a coversation about my favorite eyeliners.  First thing that came to mind was MAC’s Fluidline product.  MAC Fluidline is a cream eyeliner that was  introduced to me by my girlfriend Rachel about two years ago, I haven’t looked back and use “Blacktrack” almost everyday.  It truly has become a staple for me and is my “go to” when experimenting as well as when wanting to recreate basic and boring.  I’m well into my second pot of it and am not sure where I would be without it.  “Macroviolet” is also beautiful, but used less often as I love the drama black liner brings to your eyes.    And of course, you can make the line as thin or as thick as you like depending on the brush you use and how much you apply.

Blacktrack and Macroviolet FluidlineMacroviolet FluidlineBlacktrack Fluidline

Blacktrack and Macroviolet Fluidline

Sorry, the flash in this one really pulled out every ounce of glitter

The MAC Fluidline product works well on bare lids, primed lids, on top of eyeshadows, underneath eyeshadows, on top of the MAC paint pots and on top of waterproof penciled eyeliners (I recommend waterproof as they are less likely to smudge and move as you draw a line on top).  Pretty much whatever you need it for, it is there.  I don’t have the best success with it on my waterline long term though.  It always lasts for a few hours, but never all day.

You can purchase online here.  Prices are in CAD dollars.  ***You should also note that their colour selection online is always better than in store.  They usually have limited edition colours available that sell out quickly.***

As an alternative when laziness strikes (usually early morning before work) I will sometimes opt for a pencil eyeliner as it is so easy to draw on, apply some mascara and run out the door.  I recently discovered these jumbo crayons by Sephora.  I am featuring shades “White 01” and “Green 10” in this post.  They are 12hour waterproof pencils and I’ve got to tell you, they are AMAZING!  They go on super creamy and true to colour.  Not to mention they aren’t too pricey when compared to Urban Decay, Too Faced, etc and they come in a wide range of colours.  Follow this link to take a look at all the shades available and unlike MAC, these are all regular colours and will be available in store as well, I don’t believe I have ever seen limited edition products in this collection.  Prices are in US dollars and will convert to Canadian upon checkout.

12 hour waterproof eyeliner12 hour waterproof eyelinerGreen Jumbo Crayon by SephoraWhite Jumbo Pencil by Sephora

Sephora 12 hour waterproof eyeliner

Whoever labelled these as waterproof, meant it.  I actually went to bed with these on my hand and woke up with them looking perfect, not a single smudge.  You don’t have to worry about rubbing your eyes and making a mess like you do with inexpensive products like Avon and some drugstore brands.

What is fun about these jumbo pencils is you can really use them for anything.  You can double line your eye with the thick white pencil and then use the Fluidline product on your lash line and even use it as a filler as was done in my Arabic eye.

Waterproof Eyeliners

A combination of the two products together

And of course, don’t be afraid to mix and match.

I personally am just looking for an excuse to go pick up a couple more colours for the collection.

What eyeliner can you not live without?  I would love to hear about it.

xox,

Shann

Thanks to Sunny for inspiring this post! ❤

11 responses

  1. frenchtippedwanderlust

    My friend actually just gave me the MAC liquid liner pot for Christmas, she said she forgot to get a brush so I’m waiting for that to try it out, but typically I have used just a twist up liner stick. So I’m pretty excited/nervous about using a really nice brand and a different type of liner – but you saying you love it so much has actually made me more excited about trying it out!!

    January 6, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  2. The application will take some getting used to, but I assure you – you are going to love it!

    January 6, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  3. Oooo I love these fatty pencils from Sephora! They look so cute! I’m a bit surprised gel liners didn’t survive your waterline though. I’ve always thought they’re pretty invincible!

    What did your fiance say about you going to bed with stripes of color on the back of your hand? lol My boyfriend still can’t really figure out what’s going on!

    January 9, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    • He has gotten used to all of this I think. He doesn’t ask questions anymore! lol

      January 9, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Candyland « eyemasq

  5. Pingback: All About Eyes Palette « eyemasq

  6. Pingback: Make Yourself Up with MAC « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: The Space Between « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: Classic Smoky Eye Makeup « eyemasq

  9. Pingback: a BLUE makeup look with a touch of ORANGE « eyemasq

  10. Pingback: Date Night Makeup « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

