A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Have You Picked Your Colour Scheme?

So, because I have no intent on marbling my nails for the big day at the end of this month…I thought it would be fun to do up the “wedding colours” for the upcoming bridal shower this weekend.  People ask us about our wedding colours all the time.  It seems to be a question in the top three…

You’re getting married?  Congratulations!

When is the big day?

Have you picked your colour scheme?

That seems crazy to me.  That people inquire about colours before anything else.  It’s funny, because we never even picked colours at all.  But with it being brought up so early in conversation, it seems like it must be important…I guess we missed something with planning our wedding.  I guess I thought people would be more interested in the location, the bridal party, the vows.  Something?!

To James and I, planning our wedding the latter is what is most important.  We put weight in those decisions.  We wanted a location that made the planning a breeze, that took the stress away and made the engagement fun and exciting rather than stressful and tiring.  We wanted to surround ourselves with people we love that are closest to us to stand next to us in support.  And we have chosen to write our own vows, in an attempt to articulate how we feel and why we insist on spending the rest of our lives together.  To us, those are the cool things that came with planning a wedding.  Not the colours!  But in all fairness, I wasn’t one of those little girls with the big wedding fantasy.  I never had dreams about growing up and getting married.  I never pictured the ball room, the dress, the centerpieces, the flowers, none of it.  In fact, up until 2.5 years ago I didn’t think I would ever get married.  But when I met James, all of that changed.  I quickly learned that I couldn’t wait to get married, to this man.  I couldn’t wait to sign up for a lifetime with him.  And I am going to go out on a limb here, but I believe, for those of you already married, that if you looked back at your wedding and truly thought about what was special and what you remember most…that it isn’t your colour scheme.  Maybe it is.  Maybe I am just that far off base…

That is truly the beauty of getting married though.  You get to shape your experience in to what you see value in and make it into the perfect day for you.  For everyone, that will always be something different.  But for me, when you ask me about the wedding…please, for the love of God, ask me something real.  Ask me about something that matters.  Ask me why I said yes!  Ask me “Why him?” – I would be more than happy to tell you.

Yet, I digress.  I know this post was about nails at some point…

Inadvertently somehow along the way we  ended up with colours of green, white and black.  Only because I will be wearing green and white and the rest of the bridal party in black with a touch of green.  So somehow we did get a colour scheme, whether we intended on one or not.

As mentioned at the beginning of this post, I thought it might be fun to nail marble the wedding colours and see how it would turn out.  Let me reiterate, I have no intent whatsoever to marble for the wedding.  It is fun and cool, don’t get me wrong.  But it isn’t classic and timeless.  (I am sure most of you would use that same argument about a bride in an emerald green dress, but we can leave that topic for another day….)

China Glaze, Orly and Sally Hansen

China Glaze White on White ~ Orly Liquid Vinyl ~ Sally Hansen Going Green

White, Green and Black Nail Marble

China Glaze White on White Nail Polish

Black, White and Green Nail Marble

Black, white and green nail marble

Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear #34 – Going Green

Green, White and Black Nail Marble

(In the event that you missed the post on how to Nail Marble at home, please click here.)

Let me know what you think.  Both about wedding scheme colours and the nail marbling combination.  I would be interested to hear what you have to say on both fronts.

xox,

Shann

Hope you all had a Wonderful, Safe and Happy New Years!

7 responses

  1. bonnieleecuevas

    These are fantastic! Thanks for the love <3!

    January 4, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  2. Love your marbeling. I have always wanted to do this but just never got around to it. This is one of the better marbeling that I have seen done.

    January 5, 2012 at 11:18 pm

  3. Amazing!! I must learn this at once!

    January 5, 2012 at 11:54 pm

  4. Thanks ladies – I’m glad you like them! Let me know how they work out for you – I would love to see some pictures!

    January 6, 2012 at 12:59 pm

  5. James

    Some of my favourite nails you’ve done, I really like this effect.

    January 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  6. Pingback: A Spring Time Nail Marble « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: A red, white, blue and green nail marble « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

