A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Peppermint Nails

Today I felt like nail marbling and although I wasn’t trying to create what I will fondly refer to here on out as “Peppermint Nails” I sort of stumbled upon this look by accident. Because “Heart of Africa” and “Watermelon Rind” nail polishes work so nice in the water, I decided I’d put them together and because I just picked up “Swing Baby” I wanted to include it. As soon as I saw the first nail come out, I couldn’t think about anything other than “that looks like a candy cane – perfect!” So here we are.

Holiday Nail Polishes

Heart of Africa, Swing Baby, Watermelon Rind

To note:  I did not use the white base coat on my nails.  This wasn’t because I thought it would look better, but simply out of sheer laziness.  It was already late and I wanted to save a step.  I have no doubt that the white base coat would make these Peppermint Nails really pop.

China Glaze Nail Polishes

Candycane Nails

Candy Cane Nails

In case you missed my recent post on how to create this look, you can click here.

Have a Safe and Happy New Year!

xox,

Shann

5 responses

  1. Samira

    Love!

    December 30, 2011 at 7:08 am

  2. I don’t think that they look like a candy cane at all. You did a beautiful job. Although white would have made the colors “pop”, I like that you didn’t use it. In the photos at least, the colors have a “faded” quality to them that really works to add sophistication to the mani. I think if they were brighter it would be closer to the peppermint effect that you mentioned. Very nice!

    December 30, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    • I agree – the white would’ve definitely made them look more like peppermint candies/candy canes. But like you mentioned, I agree they look classier being more faded and soft. Thank you for your comment. Happy New Years!!!

      December 31, 2011 at 10:37 am

  3. Pingback: A Spring Time Nail Marble « eyemasq

  4. Pingback: A red, white, blue and green nail marble « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

