A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Time for Pin-Up

By now you should all be able to tell that I love to do a bit of experimenting and try different things from time to time.  I like to stretch my comfort zone and push my boundaries…and other people’s boundaries for that matter, as far as they’ll let me anyways.  But the latter is not what I will be posting about today.

Yesterday was my work’s annual Christmas party.  All the people that you see 260 days out of the year transform into different versions of themselves.  They dress up, they spend extra time on their hair and makeup, they hide their glasses and they make their entrance with their other halves in tow.  Christmas parties are sort of a weird creature, a little awkward, a little stilted.  You make pleasant conversation, you meet some new people.  You drink just enough to loosen up, but you are always a little weary of having one too many and being that person that the stories around the office surround until the next big corporate event when someone else has a chance to embarrass themselves.

For me I always err on the side of caution and if you ask my fiance, he’d probably tell you that I can dance a little too close to the line called “boring”.  But I feel safe there, in my little comfort zone…after all I am going to see these people for 260 days in the upcoming year.

So because I knew I wasn’t going to be the one dancing on the tables, the one giving a drunken speech, or the one caught in an in-depth conversation with a snowman…I chose to push my boundaries in another format.  With what else…a little makeup.  You get to look a bit like someone else for an evening, without having to change at all.  My kind of night out.

I felt like going Pin-Up for the first time in my life.  I haven’t worn red lipstick since I was 6 years old and ended up staining an area twice the size of my lips all over my face.  I’ve been a gloss girl all of my adult life and the only lipsticks I own came in a “gift with purchase kit” or a box set of some kind and generally speaking, that is exactly where they stayed.  So earlier in the week, I went out and bought some lipstick from Wal-Mart.  I must’ve tried a dozen of them on the back of my hand, trying to imagine what each one would actually look like on my face…when finally I just picked the last one I tried and thought to myself “you’ve got to start somewhere”.  So Diva Red Lipstick by Rimmel is where I started…now all I needed was to find the right look.

This tutorial was what I followed, although I completely forgot about the beauty mark at the end.  Probably for the best, I am sure I would’ve forgotten it was there and smeared it all over half way through dinner.  Looks like my sketchy memory has a silver lining after all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What products I used:

  • I applied Clinique’s Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer all over my face and then sealed the look with MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder.
  • Taking MAC’s Mystery Eyeshadow (by now I’m sure you’ve noticed this is my eyebrow filler of choice) I wet my angled brush and applied this colour heavy to my brows to really darken them and give them shape.
  • I then used Mary Kay Eye Primer all over my lids and up to my brows.
  • Using Brule Eyeshadow by MAC I applied this colour as a base from my lashes all the way up to my brows.
  • For my neutral crease colour, I used a blend of both Cork Eyeshadow and Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC until I got a colour I was happy with.  Remember, you don’t want this really heavy, we are just trying to add dimension to the eye.  Our lips will be the focus.
  • Using Phloof! Eyeshadow by MAC I highlighted under my brow to really accentuate the dark brows and create a little depth around my eyes.
  • I then proceeded to do my best attempt at the cat eyeliner using MAC’s Fluidline in Blacktrack.
  • Curling my lashes and applying Maybelline’s Falsies Mascara to the top and bottom, I was almost done.
  • For lashes I used the Demi Whispies by Ardell.
  • And for my blush, I went with Dollymix Blush by MAC – applied very softly to not overpower the look.  I just wanted a soft pink dusted on the apples of my cheeks.
  • Last but certainly not least – the lips!  Using Diva Red Lipstick by Rimmel I completed my look.  (I didn’t have a lip liner to use, so I cut out that step and hoped for the best.)

I think it turned out pretty well, what do you think?  I certainly had fun with this look and look forward to doing it again this holiday season.

xox,

Shann

Pin-Up Makeup

9 responses

  1. Love it, love it, love it!!! You definitely pulled the look of very well!

    I wish I had any sort of a “crease” to play with, but I don’t, so I guess if I ever want to do a pin-up look I’ll have to find a way around that.

    Sunny xx

    December 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  2. frenchtippedwanderlust

    Were you inspired by my adventures in lipstick land? Ha ha!

    I like your thoughts on company Christmas parties.. it does seem a bit strange that all of the people you see all year long.. decide for one night to parade around as someone different than they appear all year long.

    I feel like its kind of the same feeling I got from people when I got some professional pictures taken in which I had my hair and make-up done.. and they came out looking way better than my usual self ha ha! And then of course I posted them on facebook.. where obviously these are people who see me in my natural and i do mean natural environment (i usually wear very little makeup) and then all of a sudden I look like a MUCH better version of myself.. its like people aren’t sure what to do.. “Oh you look so amazing… but we all know thats not how you REALLY look” hahahah! Fun times!

    Anyways! Seems like this worked out for you because it looks good! I will have to try that tutorial sometime because I really like pin-up style!

    December 12, 2011 at 5:30 am

  3. Sunny – thank you! I’m glad you loved it. The crease is so subtle and soft in this look, I have no doubt you can pull it off too!

    Frenchtippedwanderlust – I actually didn’t see your post until after I went looking to see what similar stuff was out there, and naturally, I loved it! 🙂 I’m happy to hear you can relate to my view on the company Christmas party thing. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that thinks of things in these terms.

    I look forward to seeing both of your takes on this look!

    xox,
    Shann

    December 12, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  4. McMademoiselle Likes

    Oh I love your liner! That’s a lovely look

    December 28, 2011 at 11:01 am

    • Thank you – I’m glad you liked it!

      December 28, 2011 at 11:07 am

  5. That’s one of my favorite videos how to do the pinup makeup. You look great and executed it very nicely!

    I went to a burlesque event with husband and friends last year and had a blast with the fun makeup and hair. I discovered a love for red lipstick that day!

    January 8, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Hi Stacey, thanks for commenting! This look with the red lips got me hooked on lipstick as well. I just bought my first MAC pro longwear lipstick today and I can see a new addiction forming….must…have…all…the…colours!

      January 8, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  6. Pingback: Neutrals with a pop of colour « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: Feeling Sexy? A Holiday Makeup Look & Tutorial « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

