A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Ultimate Mascara Review

The world of mascara is something I’ve never really ventured that far into.  Don’t get me wrong, like almost every woman out there, I love mascara and it is an essential before leaving the house. But when it comes to splurging on makeup, I always go for the high quality highly pigmented eyeshadows and pigments.  I’ve always been happy with the $5 mascara from the drugstore.

Mascara Sampler

I won’t lie though and say I’ve never been curious, I always linger and hum and haw over whether or not I should try that new $15/$20 mascara because the picture always makes it look SOOOOO amazing.  So I decided to do a trial and actually follow up on my curiosities and suspicions.

Unfortunately because I have a bit of a “go big or go home attitude” rather than buying one mascara to try, I picked up the Sephora Favorites Mascara set so I could try a bunch of different ones.  Sephora compiled a box set of their top selling mascaras from different lines.  You can purchase it online here:

http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P295701&categoryId=C21157&shouldPaginate=true

This set comes with 2 x full size mascaras (7ml), 8 x travel size mascaras (ranging from 3.9ml-5.4ml) and 1 x 30ml Clinique Take the Day Off Makeup Remover.  I purchased this kit a few months ago and was trying a different mascara everyday so I could figure out a favorite and see if I wanted to start purchasing a high end mascara on a regular basis.  What ended up happening though, was I wouldn’t remember which one was which, what I preferred, or even what I had on half the time.

It was definitely time for me to put the time in, take pictures and review the differences, if any.  So welcome to my Ultimate Mascara Review.

Let’s open up our beautifully packaged sampler and take a look:

Left Section:

Sephora Advanced Lash Booster Mascara, full size

Middle Section starting at the top:

Too Faced lashGASM MascaraUrban Decay supercurl curling mascaraMascara Sampler

Make Up For Ever Smoky Lash Mascara

bareMinerals Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara

hourglass FILM NOIR full spectrum mascara

Josie Maran Instant Natural Volume Argan Mascara

tarte gifted Amazonian clay smart mascara

FairyDrops mascara

Clinique Take the Day Off Makeup Remover

Right Section:

Stila forever your curl (curl memory mascara), full size

Alright, so let’s take a look and see the results.  I applied all mascaras in the same manner under the same conditions.  I de-saturated each picture so you can focus on the eyelashes with each mascara.

Mascara Review

Mascara Review Sephora Mascara Review

Mascara Review Urban Decay Mascara Review

Mascara Review Too Faced Mascara Review

MUFE Mascara Review MUFE Mascara Review

Bare MineralsMascara Review Bare Minerals Mascara Review

Hourglass Mascara Reviewhourglass mascara review Josie Maran Mascara Review Josie Maran Mascara Review Mascara Review tarte Mascara Review Fairydrops Mascara Review FairyDrops Mascara Review Stila Mascara Review stila Mascara Review

Things to note here:

  • I applied all mascaras with one heavy coat.  I noticed at the end of the application for both the Sephora brand and the Urban Decay brand – they both required the use of the combing brush to help separate the lashes.  (And I find they still didn’t separate very well.)  I didn’t have to do this on any of the other mascaras.  So, I would say less is more with these two mascaras, don’t try and thicken them up too much.
  • The Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover is meant for use on lids, lashes and lips.  I found though that it was very oily and like many other brands, requires you to wash your face afterwards.  Because that would’ve put me in for a really long night, I opted to use my MAC Pro Eye Makeup Remover instead.  It is fantastic for removing eye makeup and doesn’t leave an oily greasy finish.  Just wiped them clean and I was on to the next set of mascaras.  It made my life a lot easier!
  • Although you can see a difference for a few of the mascaras, I really find them all quite similar.  I wasn’t convinced that any of these are worth the extra money in comparison to the basic drugstore brands.  So I went one step further and pulled out my favorite drugstore mascara.

Maybelline Falsies Volum' Express Mascara Review Maybelline Falsies Volum' Express Mascara Review

So tell me what you think!

Really looking forward to hearing from you all – let me know your favorite!

Have a wonderful weekend!

xox,

Shann

12 responses

  1. Hey hey, thanks so much for “liking” so many of my posts! I’ve just got around to visiting your blog and I really like it!

    I’ve always cut corners with mascaras. I’ve been using Maybelline ones since the beginning, and I’m just fine with that! However, like what you said, I never remember which ones I like better, which ones less and for what reason. I guess keeping a blog sort of forces us to keep track of what we use!

    Maybe I should try MAC Pro Eye Makeup Remover when I run out of my Clinique Take the Day off. The greasy feeling has never bothered me, but it’s true that it’ll be much easier to have a non-greasy one when you do eye swatches.

    I’m going to start “following” you now 😉

    Take care,

    Sunny xx

    December 10, 2011 at 5:43 am

    • Hey, thanks for commenting! I love that we are on the same page with most things. I’m following you as well now. Looking forward to seeing your next swatch.

      A sneak peek for you – I just picked up the new Urban Decay palette (book of shadows IV) that I am going to be reviewing and swatching shortly.

      xox,
      Shann

      December 10, 2011 at 12:13 pm

  2. Hi!
    Just wanted to say that I loved your post on Mascara’s, I’ve gone through a ton of mascara’s which in hindsight would have been accomplished much more easily with the Sephora set 🙂 Loved all the pictures, they really made the review amazing.
    Atlas

    December 11, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    • Atlas81, I’m so glad you liked it! It was something I’ve been meaning to do for a while now for my own reference and it just made sense to post all the results on here.

      December 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm

  3. Pingback: Urban Decay Palette: Book of Shadows IV « eyemasq

  4. Kelsey

    Hey Shan. I am of the mindset that expensive mascaras are better, even though I think some drug store brands are great. My favorite mascara for a long time was Benefit Bad Gal Lash but recently found a mascara by Fresh (can’t remember the exact kind) but its really thickening but to my surprise, super natural feeling – no crunchiness as you get with most mascaras. Give it a try!

    December 28, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    • Hey Kels – thanks for commenting! I will certainly keep an eye out for this miraculous Fresh mascara you speak of. I’m always in search of the worlds best mascara!

      December 28, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  5. i’m still undecided! i’m tired of trying out all the mascaras, i just want ONE GOOD mascara!!! LOL My search continues….

    December 30, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    • Thanks for commenting missyjey. I’m not sure I’m 100% convinced either way just yet. I’m certainly still open to trying new ones suggested. When all else fails, just throw on false lashes from Sally’s!

      Happy New Years!!!

      December 31, 2011 at 10:45 am

  6. Pingback: The Space Between « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: Does Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadow really last 24 hours? (Full Pictures) « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: They’re Real! by benefit – the World’s #1 Mascara? « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

