A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Too Faced ~Dancing Sugar Plums Look~

It must be the completionist in me…or a slight case of OCD.  But either way I just had to try the last look from the Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette – Dancing Sugar Plums.  Let me know what you think!

Dancing Sugar Plums Look

 

Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette

How I did it:

  • Dusted Candlelight Glow all over my face and then topped off the cheeks with the Sweet Pink blush.
  • I filled in my brows slightly with Mystery Eyeshadow from MAC.
  • I applied a small amount of the Shadow Insurance Primer all over  my lids up to my eyebrows.
  • I started sweeping Cut the Cake Eyeshadow all over my lids, creating nice even coverage on both eyes.   (Using a fluffy eyeshadow brush for the set below that I will talk about in a minute.)
  • Using the dome shaped brush, I applied Nice Ash Eyeshadow on the edge of the look and swept this into the crease and just onto the brown bone.
  • Using a wet angled eyeliner brush, I applied Smolder Eyeshadow both above and below the eye, coming out to a bit of an uplifting point on the outer edge of the eye.
  • I highlighted both the brow bone and the inside corner of my eye with Satin Sheets eyeshadow.
  • Applied two coats of Sephora’s ultra black triple action mascara (came in the brush set from Sephora mentioned below).
  • For lips I simply put on a lip stain from Benefit called Posie Tint – it is a poppy pink tinted color.

Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette

Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette

My thoughts on the Dancing Sugar Plums look:

  • Cut the Cake eyeshadow came out really grey on me, not very lilacy at all.  I love the idea of purple and grey though, so I would definitely try this again.  But instead of trying it with Cut the Cake, I would try it with Parfait Amour eyeshadow from MAC and keep everything else the same.  That way the lid will be a little bit more pigmented and you’ll really see the pop of purple.
  • I think the Nice Ash eyeshadow really brought out the grey hues in Cut the Cake when I blended them together.  I think Cut the Cake eyeshadow might have looked a lot different if I’d put it along side a darker purple, like Party Girl eyeshadow.  Or even if it was being worn on its own I believe it would show as a very soft lilacy purple.
  • Satin Sheets eyeshadow works really nice as a lovely soft pink highlighter.  I think I will get a lot of use out of this one.
  • Using Smolder eyeshadow wet really performed well as an eyeliner.  It is a less dramatic look than a liquid eyeliner in black for example, but it’s still dark enough to add the depth to your look.
  • Candlelight Glow all over the face gives a very shimmery look in photos, almost like little sparkles everywhere…or like you’ve been sweating.  So keep that in mind.  I think rather than putting it all over, I would just use it as a soft highlight on top of a matte powder like my MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder.
  • Before heading out, I would put on a slightly pink shimmery lip gloss on top of the stain to complete the look.  (I didn’t do this for the pictures because I wanted you guys to see the true colour of the stain on my lips first.)

What I used not from the Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette:

As mentioned earlier, I used brushes from a set I picked up at Sephora.  This is a regularly stocked item there and you can get it year round, not just during the holidays.  You can take a look at it here and read reviews.  Again the site shows US dollars until you head to check out where it converts to Canadian dollars.  I paid $54.00 for this brush set, in store.
Sephora Brush Set
http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P191403&categoryId=C12744&shouldPaginate=true# 

I have had these for a few months and the brush quality is great.  The value is huge when purchased in a set like this, you pay such a premium to purchase them individually.  This set even comes complete with a guide on how to create the perfect smoky eye, as well as a full sized mascara.  Great gift idea for the makeup lover on your list!

I also want to mention the lip and cheek stains from Benefit.  I’ve used them before in previous looks, but never talked about them.
benefit lip & cheek stain
Too Faced Dancing Sugar Plums Eyes
The Posie Tint shade that I have used here is a bit light for me without a gloss on top, you’ll typically see me using the darker red shade ( Benetint in Rose) as it suits me better, especially on the cheeks.  I have however used this pink shade on the cheeks of a fair skinned blonde friend of mine, and it looked absolutely gorgeous, so keep that in mind!
Benefit Lip & Cheek Stain
http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml;jsessionid=JIY0HOZK135SICV0KRTRHOQ?id=P210589&categoryId=B70
Benetint
http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P1272&categoryId=RPYMAL&navAction=jump

I actually purchased these about 6-8 months ago and got them in a sample sized value set so I could try them out.  I don’t see that available on their website anymore, I only see the full sized stains available for purchase now.  But definitely go check them out in store, see what shade is right for you and I promise you that you will get lots of use out of it.  I love that it can double for your lips and cheeks.  When you spend a lot of money on makeup, it is nice to have multi use products.  The brush is great and makes application a breeze.  Go pick one up – or if you are looking for gift ideas, the benefit lip & cheek stains will make a great stocking stuffer that she will be ecstatic about.

Alright, now that all three looks from the Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palettes are up, I want to know your favorite!  (If you are just joining us, you can find the two very recent posts on the right hand side)

IT’S TIME TO VOTE!!!


xoxo,

Shann

P.S. For an in-depth look at the Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette, please check out my previous post “Too Faced ~Sweet Dreams~ Sultry Swan Look” complete with eyeshadow swatches.

One response

  1. Pingback: Neutrals with a pop of colour « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

