A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Too Faced ~Sweet Dreams Palette~ Sultry Swan Look

Time for giving?  Yeah, probably.  But the trouble with the holidays is that wherever you go there are awesome deals and gift sets that you just “need” to buy for yourself….it is really better that I just stay away from the malls this time of year, but….that can be much easier said than done.

A couple of weeks ago on a day off I made my way to Rideau Centre, a three level mall in downtown Ottawa.  I always end up in the two large makeup stores there because they aren’t at the mall closer to our work that we usually will hit on the way home (St. Laurent shopping centre).  So sure enough, I ventured to MAC Cosmetics and for the first time since my addiction, I didn’t make a single purchase.  With over 36 eyeshadow colours from MAC already, I couldn’t even decide what I “needed” so I left empty handed.  Sephora though had their holiday gift sets arranged at the front and I knew I was in trouble.  Debating between Urban Decay, Hello Kitty, Sephora Brand and Too Faced palettes, I opted for the Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette.  I’ve never used any of their product before and have done a small review for you all letting you know what I think.

Fairy Book Makeup

I’ve got to tell you, what sold me on this palette was the fairy book styling and colours available.  All of the palettes on display showed great colour when tested on my hand, but I chose Too Faced because of the fun fantasy look and presentation.  The only thing I wish is that it would’ve had a slot for the primer rather than having it roam loose.

Fairy Book Makeup Palette

This palette comes with 15 eyshadow colours, 4 blushes, the eyeshadow insurance primer as well as three idea cards for looks to get you started.  This is a Sephora exclusive palette and cannot be purchased anywhere else, not even online at http://www.toofaced.com.  You can see the listing here, but prices are in US dollars, it will convert to Canadian at checkout:

http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P296017&categoryId=B70 In store it was $65.00 (over $200 value if you were to purchase everything individually).

I’ve included swatches of all the eyeshadows so you can get an idea of what they will look like on:

In the Buff, Peach Fuzz, Copper Peony, Teddy Bear, Lovey Dovey Satin Sheets, Cut the Cake, Party Girl, Nice Ash, Smolder Honeymoon, Label Whore, Nice Stems!, Cop a Teal, First Dance

To note:

  • Peach Fuzz and Satin Sheets go on so sheer they are almost non existent.  I think they would be a nice highlight but wouldn’t recommend if you are trying to get that colour to really show and cover an area.  (If you want a pink to go on nice and PINK and not just sheer, use either Pink Freeze or Pink Venus from MAC)
  • The matte colours in this collection need a little extra application if you want them to be nice and dark, whereas the glittery frost colours definitely slide on with ease and look beautiful.
  • Label Whore looks insanely different when the light hits it.  It reminds me a lot of “Club” from MAC in the sense that depending where you see it, it can show red, teal or brown.  (You will see what I mean below in the “Sultry Swan” look for evenings.)
  • All in all – for $65.00 I think it is a great value for the amount of variety here.  I guess it depends on what you are looking for in your shadows, for me, I want my colours to be bright, dark and true to colour…so this palette is far from perfect, but I’m still glad I purchased it and know I will get a lot of use out of the fun metallic fairy shades.
Too Faced Makeup Looks

Look: Sultry Swan – An Evening Look

I simply followed the card and used Cop a Teal all across my lid, Label Whore on the edge/up through the crease and Honeymoon to highlight.  I also took Label Whore and Cop a Teal to go under my lower lashes a bit to really intensify the look for an evening outing.  For liner, I used a water bottle to wet my brush and used “First Dance” as an eyeliner.  This look was REALLY simple to do and if you don’t mind some dark makeup it is pretty fun.  I never would’ve thought of highlighting with gold before or using such a dark blush (Chocolate Soleil) on my skin…but all in all it’s not too bad!

*The only thing I used that wasn’t from this palette was Clinique Lash Doubling Mascara – oh and Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC to fill in my brows a touch.

Sweet Dreams Palette

Sweet Dreams Palette

Too Faced Sweet Dreams Palette

Let me know what you guys think and I might give one of the other ones a try.  Or if you have any ideas of a colour combination you would like to see, I would love to hear about it!

xoxo,

Shann

11 responses

  1. Samira

    Very nice! I think I’ll be in trouble when I arrive there. It’s better I start save money now, to buy all shadows I can bring to Brazil…

    December 3, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    • Good idea! Can’t wait to go shopping with you, we are going to have so much fun! ❤

      December 3, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  2. Suzie

    beautiful! Would love to see day dreams on you too!

    December 4, 2011 at 7:33 am

    • Alright my dear – Day Dreamer look is up – let me know what you think!

      December 4, 2011 at 4:03 pm

  3. Pingback: Too Faced ~Day Dreamer Look~ « eyemasq

  4. Pingback: Too Faced ~Dancing Sugar Plums Look~ « eyemasq

  5. awesome!

    December 9, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    • Thanks amystika17! I am glad you liked it.

      December 10, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  6. Pingback: A Special Green Showcase for St. Patrick’s Day « eyemasq

  7. Pingback: New to contouring? Introducing the Natural Face Palette by Too Faced (Review and Swatches) « eyemasq

  8. Pingback: A Look for Spring « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

