A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

The Color of Hope

Hope is the emotional state which promotes the belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life.

I was told earlier tonight, by someone much wiser than me, that Green is the color for Hope.  Now I am not the type of person to put much weight in things like horoscopes and symbols of colors, but I must admit…this I loved. I am wearing an engagement ring that is likely different than any you have seen before…and might not be to everyone’s taste.  But to me, it is perfect.  And he who chose it for me, knew it was perfect.

Diamond Engagement Ring with Emeralds

I have green in this ring for two reasons.  The first reason being a tribute to my mother, oh how she would’ve loved this ring.   The second reason being that I am lucky enough to have a man that knows the first reason.  ❤

It almost seems criminal that a ring that already symbolizes so much should have any more responsibility placed on it’s shoulders…but you certainly can’t tell it “no”.   I don’t trust that it would listen even if you did.   To me this ring is already a promise, a commitment, a partners love and a mothers love…and all of that is just rolled up in this little circle only big enough to fit on my finger…it already must be magic.  But now, when I look at my ring, I also see something else very special.  Hope.  A giddy child-like amount of it, filling and spilling over.  So I guess it was always there, unsuspecting, waiting for me to notice.  Now I can look right at it and see it for what it is.  It is beautiful.  When you slow right  down…stop.  And think.  Hope is beautiful.  To feel Hope is beautiful.  It is calming, relaxing, invigorating, fulfilling, rejuvenating.  Tell me you feel it.  Slow down and feel it!

I wonder if my mother knew the color green symbolized Hope all those years.  Maybe it was the Irish in her that drew her to the color, or maybe it was her favorite for no reason at all.  For me, it will always be my color for her and I can’t think of anything more beautiful than her passing onto me a lifetime of hope.

3 responses

  1. That’s a beautiful ring and the sentiment behind it is even more beautiful. Congratulations!

    January 6, 2012 at 9:16 am

    • Hey Boston – thank you for your comment! This ring is very special to me and I’m thrilled that I get to look at it everday for the rest of my life.

      January 6, 2012 at 12:50 pm

  2. James

    I married you the moment I asked you to love me back.

    You’re SO easy to love, how could I not? 😉

    January 16, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

