A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

A love affair with dandelions

When you are a little girl, dandelions don’t seem like a weed, instead they are simply beautiful little flowers that you can pick and give to your Mom or perhaps put in your hair.  You certainly don’t have the faintest idea as to why adults seem to concern themselves with their removal.  I’ve always thought they were pretty little rays of sunshine, poking their heads up among the grassy forest.  It seems like sort of a needless fight really… yet people spend their hard earned money every year waging war.  Don’t worry, I live in an apartment, so I’m not your neighbour and you don’t have to worry about my lawn being the bane of your existence.

Their sunny little faces always made me happy.  In fact, I should probably use the words “make me happy” given that it was just over a year ago that I found myself picking a small dandelion bouquet on Prince Edward Island, right after my husband asked me to marry him.

PEI dandelions

Yet I digress… this is after all a beauty and travel blog.

What I mean to say, is that I’ve always had a bit of a love affair with dandelions and I now have a new reason to rave about their existence.  

You guys might recall my being stoked about my most recent Topbox that featured samples solely from benefit cosmetics.  I was so excited about it, I really wanted to make time to go into extra detail  for some of the products.  First up on my hit list is (you guessed it) the sample set I received featuring both the dandelion brightening face powder and the corresponding dandelion ultra plush lip gloss.  

"Dandelion" blush and gloss

These two products have quickly raced their way up my list of favourite products.

The brightening face powder is a gorgeous soft pink shade.  It creates a very subtle and natural looking glow.  This “dandelion” powder applies nearly sheer but is easily built-up for a more noticeable look.  And don’t forget the soft shimmery kiss this “everyday” blush leaves behind on your cheeks.

If you’ve been wanting a blush that leaves a nice natural look without being overloaded by shimmer or looking flat with matte, this product might be just what you need.

sephora.com

photo courtesy of http://www.sephora.com

The full size product is .25oz complete with a brush for easy dusting.  It retails for $36.00 CAD or$28.00 US.

Now, as much as I love the blush and think its a very versatile and flattering shade, my favourite of the pair is the gloss.

benefit cosmetics - dandelion lip gloss

photo courtesy of http://www.sephora.com

This “dandelion” Ultra Plus Lip Gloss smells absolutely amazing for starters!  It smells like peaches with a slight touch of mango but isn’t too overpowering, it’s just strong enough to be noticeable.  When I first did my Topbox research and I discovered the full size gloss from Sephora was $18.00 CAD or $16.00 US (for a 0.5oz) I remember thinking to myself, who is going to pay that much for a gloss…gloss is gloss.  But honestly…I’m now one of those people that would be happy paying that for this product.  This lip gloss by benefit is soft, smooth and as far in the opposite direction of “sticky” as you can imagine.  It glides on incredibly smooth with no dragging.

The only draw back with this non-sticky lip gloss in “dandelion” is that the product isn’t really pigmented.  Don’t pick this shade if you are hoping for a soft pink, it is mostly clear, but will do the trick if you just want a pop of shine…and for your lips to feel amazing.  benefit does offer this gloss in a variety of colours, so if you are wanting something with more colour, perhaps check out their darker shades.

Here is a swatch of both of the dandelion products for you.  It really allows you to see how sheer and soft the blusher is (very faint, yet visible on the left) as well as the clear finish of the gloss (on the right):

dandelion ultra plush lip gloss swatch and dandelion blush swatch

I also used them both in the below makeup look.  Whenever I go heavy on the eye makeup I like to keep my cheeks and lips soft and subtle, so both dandelion products worked great for that purpose:

"dandelion" lip gloss and blush

Now if you are wanting to try out these two products, but don’t feel like spending $54 CAD or $44 US, benefit cosmetics actually has a great value set for those interested in rocking these in tandem this Spring.  It is called “feelin’ DANDY” and is available where benefit products are sold.  Sephora carries it for $32.00 CAD or $28.00 US.

benefit value set, "dandelion"

photo courtesy of http://www.sephora.com

You’ll also be able to try out “posie tint” and “high beam” minis as well.  It’s a hard deal to beat and allows you to try multiple products for a very affordable price!

Have you tried the dandelion Ultra Plush Lip Gloss or Brightening Face Powder by benefit?  What did you think?!?

And now for my most important questionhow do you feel about the dandelion weed? ;)

xox,

Shannon

10 responses

  1. Oh I love this post! Dandelion is such a pretty color that goes unnoticed a lot of times…and the set is awesome! Might need to pick that up. Their box blushes literally last for.ev.er.

    And I love dandelions…I better I have it tattooed!

    February 28, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    • That is so awesome, I’m glad I’m not alone!

      And yes, the shade is very subtle, which is what I truly love about it. I hope you pick up the set. I definitely would’ve wanted it if I hadn’t been graced with this awesome sample set through Topbox. Hopefully, by the time I run through these two samples, that value set will still be around because it is a great deal!

      Can’t wait to see pics of your new tattoo! ;)

      March 1, 2013 at 7:43 am

  2. So… here’s the thing: I’ve always loved dandelion! I’ve become a little ashamed of admitting this, because people seem to hate it SO much! I love how the seeds just fly away with the wind. There’s something romantic and philosophical about it :) I used to live with this family that has a land turtle, and in spring we’d pick dandelion leaves for him to nibble on!

    I like how the blush looks on you! Wonder if I’ll have to build it up for it to show on my skin tone ;)

    March 1, 2013 at 6:10 am

    • Hey Sunny! On your skin, I’m guessing a normal application would be a very natural soft shimmer. You’d likely have to go at it twice to get that soft pink flush.

      And thanks for your story about dandelions, I can just picture it now! Mainly I’m just very jealous that you got to live with a land turtle… I think I need to get myself one of those. I should wait until Spring I guess… lol

      Thanks for commenting hunn! <3

      March 1, 2013 at 7:45 am

      • LOL land turtles actually can’t be traded in Belgium, so the family went all the way to the Czech Republic to bring that one back. I’m still more of a cat person though ;)

        March 1, 2013 at 10:12 am

        • I love cats too! But its not everyday you meet someone with a land turtle. I need to look up turtle laws in Canada. LOL

          March 1, 2013 at 12:29 pm

  3. I’ve been so behind in blogging, but I just fell in love with a couple of Benefit products myself although I haven’t tried Dandelion goodies yet. Will get to blogging soon :)

    March 1, 2013 at 10:42 am

    • I’ve been really bad about posting regularly too. It is so hard when you’re really busy! I look forward to you getting caught up too so I can see what products you are in love with right now!

      March 1, 2013 at 12:31 pm

  4. Ooo, I love your eyes in the last pic (even though I know I’m supposed to look at the blush!) That Benefit set is really cute, though, and I’ve been meaning to check out Dandelion for a bit now. I like Coralista blush but Dandelion always seemed a little too subtle for me.

    March 3, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • Thanks hun! Coralista is super pretty too, but I have a mental block about wearing coral in the winter. It just seems like such a warm weather shade to me and our Winters here are anything but warm. so I always end up opting for rose or pink shades during the snowy months. Looking forward to spring though, that is for sure! I would like to start using my Orgasm blush again!

      March 4, 2013 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 657 other followers