A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

“Red Carpet Ready” the February Glam Bag by ipsy

In honour of the Academy Awards, this month ipsy put out a Glam Bag called Red Carpet Ready.  Focusing on the creation of a smoldering smoky eye this glam bag helps you on your way to creating a sexy look for your evenings out.

ipsy February 2013

The little bag this month was very slim, sleek and ultra glossy.

Red Carpet Ready

The items this month were all very small in size, so there was a tonne of room to spare inside this months glam bag.  And honestly, my impression of this glam bag by ipsy was less than impressive.  Let’s take a look at what I received:

February 2013 Glam Bag by Ipsy

It was neat that I received all products from brands that I haven’t tried before and “Coastal Scents” being the only one I’ve ever even heard of.  Please forgive my ignorance.  Unfortunately, that also meant, there wasn’t anything I was super excited to try either.

Flawless & Poreless by Pixi Beauty

Pixi Beauty is a line of cosmetics founded by the very famous beauty blogger Petra.  Started in the UK, the website has a site for the UK as well as their US customers.  They ship internationally and have a shipping calculator in their shopping cart to let you know what charges you can expect.  She also has an entire line of Tinkerbell products on her website due to a collaboration with Disney, for all of you fairydust lovers.

This face primer called Flawless & Poreless is said to “creates a seamless, silky canvas with a beautiful no-shine, cashmere finish. The formula’s skin-loving ingredients clear and unblock pores to allow for utterly flawless, long-lasting makeup application.”

face primer

I’ve never been able to tell much of a difference between high end facial primers.  NARS, benefit, tarte all seem to feel and work the same with my skin…so I really wish that if I was going to try a product from Pixi Beauty that it had been something a little more telling or unique to their line.  Regardless though, I have no doubt this tube of facial primer will get used eventually.

The 30 mL full size version retails on their website for $29.00 US, making this 15 mL deluxe sample a $14.50 value.

primer for your face, by pixi

Black Gel Liner by MICA Beauty Products

The next item I pulled out of my February Glam Bag was a black gel liner by MICA Beauty Products.  Definitely unfamiliar with this brand I had to do some research.  Turns out that MICA started in 2001 and launched their line of 100% natural cosmetics, entirely cruelty free.  They currently have a presence in 15 different countries throughout North America and Europe.  If anyone has used their products before, please let me know what you think below, because they have some really cool items on their website and I’m wondering about overall quality and value.

Micabeauty Ultra Smooth Gel Eyeliners make it easy for anyone to apply eyeliner without dealing with smudges, uneven lines, or fading.”

They come in 6 beautiful colors too: black, brown, bronze, green, blue and purple.  Being a big fan of gel liners already, I already have too large of a collection (2 black, 1 brown, 1 purple and 1 blue), so it will likely be some time before I have to reach for this one.  If only I’d gotten the green one!  :P

gel liner by MICA beauty

I hate that ipsy never includes a card stating the items you are actually receiving, or how much product of each.  I mean, this gel liner looks pretty big, I thought it was full-size, but the packaging on  MICA Beauty’s website looks totally different (with a built-in application brush), so I’m guessing it isn’t full-size.  But I have no way or knowing that for sure.  Even on ipsy’s website where they profile the items you received and show you how to get preferred discounts for the brands, no where does it mention size of the samples received.  If I’m wrong about this and just don’t know where to look, can one of you lovely readers fill me in?  Because it’s driving me nuts.  I can only guess that this product is about 2.5-3g (based on similar products this size).  The full-size version of this product is 5g and retails for $30.00 US, giving this sample a rough estimated value at $15.00 to $18.00.

MICA Beauty - black gel liner sample from ipsy

Coastal Scents Eyeshadow Quad mini

I had heard of Coastal Scents eyeshadows before, but had never tried them.  They aren’t known for being super high quality, but their low price point and decent quality makes them a good value.

The quad I received features 4 monochromatic shades perfect for a sultry, sexy, smoky eye. There is a decent amount of product in each, more than enough for several uses.

eyeshadow sampler from ipsy (Coastal Scents)

Candlelight, Gunmetal, Incognito and Ashen.

Gunmetal, Candlelight, Ashen and Incognito eye shadow samples from ipsy (Coastal Scents)

The two darkest shades were a little too similar for my liking, whereas another mid tone shade would’ve been ideal.  They do feel nice and creamy though, so I’m interested in trying them out in a look.  Here is a swatch of the shades:

Candlelight, Gunmetal, Incognito, Ashen swatches

Ashen is really pretty and a unique addition to my collection, I don’t have something quite like that one.  And what’s cool, is their website does sell the colors individually in pan form, so I can always grab just the one shade if I’m interested.  This mini quad holds 2g of product and is valued at $3.07.

Smoky Lash KAPOW mascara by POP Beauty

Pop Beauty is again, another line I wasn’t familiar with.  Starting out in London, POP beauty has now extended into the US market as well.  “Famous for bright colors and innovative formulas.”  

The mascara mini is Smoky Lash KAPOW, in shade “Smoky Black”.

Smokey Black mascara - KAPOW

Personally I found their website the least user-friendly of the bunch, with no search capabilities and poor product information.  For the life of me, I couldn’t find the size of the full-size mascara.  And if you click on “application” or “ingredients” the window where you can actually purchase that item, disappears making it impossible to purchase from the individual product page…without going out and going back in.

So, in order to calculate this sample’s value I had to do some more estimating.  My other full size mascaras range in size from 7-9mL, so if we call the average full-size mascara 8 mL, I can estimate this samples value at $11.04.

Smoky Lash KAPOW mascara by POP beauty

LashCard

The last item I pulled out of my February Glam Bag was this pack of Lashcards.

lashcard.com

So the idea is, you put the lash card in between your lid and your lashes while you apply your mascara.  To prevent smudging and clumping.

Personally I think the idea of these is okay, but in reality, who is going to spend this much money on lash cards on a regular basis?  They aren’t reusable  and to use them everyday would be an exorbitant expense.  And really, if you  have a nice quality mascara (or even some of the drugstore brands are awesome) you don’t have these problems anyway.

This sample set includes 4 cards.  Normally you can buy packs of 10 for $6.99, making this samples value about $2.80.

lashcard.com, ipsy

Total value of February’s “Red Carpet Ready” was roughly $46.41.

So overall, okay products this month, but nothing that I can’t wait to try out either.  Am I alone in not really liking the “Red Carpet Ready” bag?  Did other people really like this month’s Glam Bag?  Please let me know your thoughts below.

February 2013 Glam Bag by ipsy "Red Carpet Ready"

Thanks for reading!

xox,
Shannon

For a look at last month’s Glam Bag, click here.  If you are interested in subscribing, click here.

6 responses

  1. The mica looks amazing

    February 24, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    • I haven’t tried it yet, but lots of reviews I’m reading say that it smudges pretty badly without the use of a primer AND a setting spray.

      Should be interesting!

      February 24, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  2. Crystal P

    Honestly, I was excited to try the products, but ended up being disappointed in most of them. I have not used the lash cards. I tried a look with the Coastal Scents Palette (the same one you have) and found the shadows had a lot of fallout and the look was just kinda dirty looking. I hated the mascara, it ended up all over my face, a problem I do not have with even the cheapest drugstore Mascaras. The primer made no noticeable difference in the appearance of my skin. I usually use the porefessional and it actually does work. The liner is really awesome though. I have never tried one I liked so much. At least I know what not to buy now, that is part of the point of these subscription boxes right?

    February 24, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    • Hey Crystal, I’m so glad you commented seeing as you’ve had a chance to try out everything already.

      I had heard absolutely terrible things about the mascara, in fact, every review I’ve seen of that product has been negative. I’m really not looking forward to trying it at all. And as for the liner, I’ve heard mixed reviews, some people seem to love it and others really hate it. And I do agree with you, that subscription services are helpful in helping you find out what products not to buy, but I’m always going to be happier with my subscription if its helping me find products worthy of buying and not the other way around. Because, after all, we do pay for the service. So the products that you’ve discovered you’d never want to buy…you technically did buy them…just mini versions of them. LOL

      And I know that no subscription service is going to be perfect, or tailored to each individual, but enough misses with low quality products people hate or won’t ever use will simply drive people away.

      I am really looking forward to March, I have my fingers crossed for a good month! Thanks again for commenting Crystal!

      February 24, 2013 at 11:18 pm

  3. Wow, I forgot to renew my subscription, but it seems like I didn’t miss much at all. That’s got to be one of the most disappointing bags from them in a LONG time (like since the first couple of months)…

    March 1, 2013 at 10:44 am

    • I thought it was just really boring and “meh”. I must’ve signed up at a bad time. :( Hopefully next months will be better.

      March 1, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers