A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

February Topbox featuring benefit!

Topbox won my heart over for a good long while with their February Prive Box featuring all products by benefit cosmetics!

benefit Cosmetics Topbox

As I mentioned in my January Topbox post, I opted in to receive a benefit Prive box instead of this months standard mystery box.  I knew they had limited quantities and wasn’t sure if I would get one.  But when I ripped open the brown paper and saw a bright fuscia wrapped Topbox and the words “benefit” written along the top, I actually let out  an excited victory yelp “eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!”

February Topbox review and photos

My excitement continued as I pulled out item after item.  This month was by far my favourite Topbox and I’m sure anyone who unsubscribed a couple of months ago due to a bad box (December), are kicking themselves now!

February Topbox Review, Haul and Photos

benetint

The first item I found at the top of my Topbox was “benetint”.  It is a rose-tinted lip and cheek stain.  One of my best friends Rachel actually turned me onto this product a few years ago, and like her, I fell in love with it immediately.  I have two mini’s of this product already from different Sephora value packs and I know I can put this sample to good use as well.  This is one product that I will definitely repurchase when my samples run dry.  The full-size version of this product is 12.5 mL and retails for $36 CAD making this samples value $7.20.

benetint sample - Rose

lip and cheek stain

rose-tinted lip and cheek stain

Total Moisture Facial Cream

Then out came benefit’s “Total Moisture Facial Cream” in the exact same packaging as the full size, an adorable small glass pot.  Said to “provide concentrated immediate & long-term hydration” this face cream may be just what one’s skin needs during the dry winter months.  Formulated specifically for normal to dry skin, this cream “contains exclusive tri-radiance complex to help develop the skin’s reserves of water.”  I’m personally looking forward to trying this out against my new favourite moisturiser from Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration line.  The full size version of this cream is 48.2g and retails for $42 CAD.  This sample is 8.9g making this samples value $7.75.

benefit face cream "total moisture"

normal to dry skin face cream

the POREfessional

Next up was “the POREfessional” face primer which I’ve been curious about trying for a long time.  This PRO balm is said to minimize the appearance of pores and can be used either under or over your makeup.  The full size version of this product is 22mL and retails for $34 CAD.  This sample is 7.5mL in size which makes its value $4.85.

"POREfessional" face primer by benefit cosmetics

"the POREfessional" face primer

Dandelion Wishes Powder and Lip Gloss

The largest of the samples was actually one of the last to come out of my Topbox.  This sample set featured a matching lipgloss and luminizing powder in one of benefit’s best selling shades “Dandelion”.  I was super stoked about receiving these as I’ve never actually tried any of their powder or lip products (excluding the lip/cheek stain) before.  The brightening face powder has a full size version that is 7g and sells for $36 CAD.  This 3g sample is an absolute steal valued at $15.43.  The corresponding lip gloss can also be purchased as a 15mL full size version for $18 CAD.  This 6.5mL sample has a value of $7.80.

Dandelion sample from Benefit

"Dandelion" face powder and lip gloss set

"Dandelion" blush and gloss

Fine-One-One

“Fine-One-One” is something I was also excited to receive a small bonus sample of.  This is a brand new product from benefit Cosmetics and is receiving some mixed reviews in relation to its value and its wear time.  So I’m stoked to be able to try it out for myself.  This sheer  brightening cheek and lip trio has a full size 8g version (seems small for a full size product) that retails for $36 CAD.  This sample is very small, only good enough for one use (maybe two if I stretch it out) and a value can’t be calculated.  I guess that is why they call it a bonus!  It came in a Chinese New Year envelope with a shout out to the Year of the Snake.  “Happy Gorgeous Year!” was labelled on the box wrapping as well as the flip side to this envelope.  Very cute touch!

February Topbox Review

Topbox February

"Fine-One-One" Sample

The Verdict:

Benefit Cosmetics Topbox Review, Pictures and Haul

I am absolutely ecstatic with my February Topbox and ALL of my new products from benefit Cosmetics.  This Prive Box struck a much better balance between makeup and skin care products than last months Clinique Prive Box did.  With two skin care products and 4 makeup related samples in my February Topbox, I couldn’t be happier.  All of the packaging this month is super pretty and all of the samples are in easy to use containers.  Total value of this month’s Topbox $43.03.  Not bad for the $12 my subscription.

There are so many great products in this February Topbox that I will do swatches and reviews in upcoming posts (seeing as this post is already long and super pic heavy).

If you are wanting to sign up so you can try a variety of deluxe samples every month too, you can do so here, online via their website.

I’d love to hear what you think of this month’s Topbox!  Did you receive a benefit box too?  If so, was it the same?

xox,
Shannon

Benefit Cosmetics

16 responses

  1. Oh wow, this box is cool! Love all the cutesy miniatures!

    February 9, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    • Thanks Sunny, I thought so too! Really adorable samples and packaging!

      February 9, 2013 at 3:56 pm

  2. DressedinMYcloset

    I LOVE Benefit makeup!

    February 9, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    • Me too, I love everything I’ve tried of theirs, so I’m excited to try a few new things now too!

      February 9, 2013 at 5:50 pm

  3. I love Fine-1-1! I bought it when it first came out and it is great!

    February 10, 2013 at 8:23 am

    • Cool! So it has a long wear time for you? And you don’t find the price too expensive for just 8g of product?

      I thought it looked really awesome, but there so many mixed reviews out there. I’m glad I get to try it out for myself now before I commit to buying it.

      Sounds like you are really happy with it though.

      February 10, 2013 at 10:31 am

      • I think it gives a nice flush and I am partial to cream stick blush. I think wearing time is good, too.

        February 10, 2013 at 11:20 am

        • Very cool! This makes me more excited to try it out then. :)

          February 10, 2013 at 5:54 pm

  4. I would’ve loved to get this box. I love benefit products. Enjoy Shannon!

    February 11, 2013 at 5:10 am

    • Thanks Rebecca, I promise I will! I was like a kid in a candy store when I opened up this baby. What a steal for $12!!

      February 11, 2013 at 4:57 pm

  5. love! I’ve recently landed a job with Benefit as a beauty artist so if you have any questions about the products let me know. fine one one is pretty amazing. you can use on cheeks or lips and it gives a lovely coral color that you can layer.

    February 11, 2013 at 8:33 am

    • Very cool, congratulations on your new position! I’m hoping I like the Fine-One-One although I think coral would look crazy on me this time of year. Perhaps I will hold off a bit until Spring. In the middle of snow, I can’t picture it. :)

      February 11, 2013 at 4:58 pm

  6. Holly J

    I love the Pore Professional! It’s my favorite primer.

    February 11, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    • I’m very much looking forward to trying it. It says you can use over top of your makeup as well, have you tried that? The idea seems foreign to me.

      February 12, 2013 at 5:30 pm

      • Holly J

        I haven’t. I’ve used it under or just by itself. What good is primer underneath foundation?

        February 12, 2013 at 11:17 pm

  7. Pingback: A love affair with dandelions | eyemasq

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers