A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Topbox’s First “Prive Box” – Clinique

A couple of months ago Topbox announced that they would be adding a Prive Box to their offerings.  The Prive Box is a beauty box featuring products all from one brand, Topbox members would be able to see the box ahead of time and decide if they wanted the Prive Box that month, or the regular mystery box.  For January though, as their first Prive Box, it would be a surprise and everyone was to get one.  No one knew who the brand was ahead of time or what would be inside.

So when I saw the little cylindrical box in my mail box last week, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I unwrapped the brown shipping paper to find personalized paper featuring the name of a high-end brand – Clinique.

Clinique Prive Box - January 2013 Topbox

In Canada, Clinique is available at both Sephora and department stores and generally speaking costs a pretty penny.  The only time I purchase Clinique is during the bonus time’s where you spend a certain amount of money and get a beauty bag for free.  So, over the years I’ve ended up with a variety of Clinique samples, some of which I’ve used until they were gone, others I have hardly touched.  But nevertheless I was happy to see a well known brand in January’s Topbox and knew before opening it, that the value would be there this month.

My shipment didn’t have a tag # this month, so I’m not sure what box # I received.  But it was definitely customized for my combination skin.  Let’s take a closer look at what was inside:

Repairwear Laser Focus

Clinique Topbox

Said to be “A second chance for skin against sun damage and wrinkles.  At 12 weeks, the visible wrinkle-reducing power is remarkably close to a dermatological laser procedure.  63% to be exact.”  I guess that is how it gets its name.  I actually received this exact sample in my last Clinique Bonus Time beauty bag (months ago) and I haven’t even given that one a try.  So it will likely be some time before this seal gets cracked, but at least I have it for when I need it.  And honestly I probably should start incorporating these types of products into my regular routine.  This wrinkle and UV damage protector is 7mL in size.  The full size (30mL) retails for $57.00 CAD which makes this sample valued at $13.30.

Clarifying Lotion 3

Clinique Topbox (Prive - January box)

Part of Clinique’s 3-step skin care program this is actually for step 2 (the 3 refers to the skin type).  This is to be used after you wash your face and before you apply your moisturiser.  Again, this is my second time receiving a sample of this.  I received a larger sample (double the size actually) of this quite a while ago during a Bonus Time and still use it a few times a week.  So it’s nice to know that I won’t need to rush out and a buy a new one.  I can use this up as well…  This sample is 30mL in size and with the full size being 200mL and retailing for only $16.00 this puts this sample’s value at  just $2.40.

Rinse-Off Eye Makeup Solvent

Clinique Topbox offerings - January Prive Box 2013

This eye makeup solvent is to be used for quick removal or quick change.  It says that it leaves no oily residue so fresh makeup adheres immediately.  To me, that sounds like MAC’s Pro Eye Makeup Remover (the purple bottle) which is okay for some products, but won’t work well on anything with waterproof or waterproof like formulas (because of the lack of oil).  If you’ve tried this product already, let me know what you think of it below?  I’m curious about it and I have no doubt I will try it.  But considering I have both an oil-free and waterproof makeup remover on the go right now, I don’t have an immediate use for it.  This sample is the largest sample in the January Topbox, at 60mL.  The full size is 125mL and retails for $25.00, making this sample valued at an even $12.00.

Color Surge Eye Shadow Duo in 02 Like Mink

Clinique Topbox

Clinique Prive Box, by Topbox

This neutral toned eye shadow duo contains two “go-together” shades in a chrome slide compact.  I’m not sure how much use I will get out of this, given that I am such an eye shadow hoarder and already have far too many, but it can’t hurt to try it out…I just need to remember I have it.  :)  The full size 2.5g version of this product retails for $25.00, so this 1.6g sample is valued at $16.00.

Total value of January 2013 Prive Box featuring Clinique = $43.70.  Not bad for a $12.00 investment.

Clinique Prive Box for January 2013

Overall, for this month, I see myself using 2, maybe three of the products regularly and can’t really say that I’m disappointed, but I can’t say that I’m super excited about it either.  Just sort of content with it I guess.  The value is there, the products are definitely high quality and generally speaking I love Clinique.  There just wasn’t anything in this box that put a giant smile on my face that I couldn’t wait to try out.  It’s just a variety of useful high-end products.  But really, that is good enough for me!  If you’d like to sign up to become a Topbox member, you can.  It is $12.00 a month with free shipping and you can cancel at any time.  Join here.

For February, they are featuring three different Prive Boxes.  One of which contains the highly sought after brand benefit.  They don’t have enough for everyone though, so I believe the people who receive it will be selected randomly from the people who requested it.  Should be interesting…I really hope I am lucky enough to get one!

Were you happy with your Beauty Boxes this month?

I signed up for Ipsy as well, so I should be receiving my first glam bag from them soon!   Can’t wait!

xox,

Shannon

To see what I’ve received in my last few Topboxes, feel free to follow these links:

October 2012 Topbox

November 2012 Topbox

December 2012 Topbox

14 responses

  1. I like Clinique’s acne foundation… It’s a great option for oily skin, like mine. ;)

    January 23, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    • I’ve heard good things about that actually! They really do have some great products. I like almost everything I’ve ever tried of theirs.

      January 23, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  2. I haven’t tried any of mine..I’ve never used Clinique before either! :o In any case, I’ve been thinking of making a light box for my pictures as well..sure makes a difference, your photos look great! :)

    January 23, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    • Hey, thanks for commenting! During the summer months I like to take the majority of my pictures outside on the balcony, but it is way too cold for that right now, so I’m just trying to get take the most honest colored pictures I can right now. I’m glad you like them!

      Clinique is a nice line, but I wasn’t overly in love with the products in this Topbox, nothing REALLY exciting. Another makeup product would’ve been nice, like a mini lipstick or mini mascara. Next month should be interesting!

      January 23, 2013 at 10:26 pm

  3. I’ve been thinking about joining Ipsy myself. Looking forward to hearing about your first box!

    January 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

    • Hey Kimberly!

      My Ipsy Glam Bag was fantastic, totally worth the $15 (to get it up here to Canada). I will post pictures of everything in the next day or two. Stay tuned! :)

      January 28, 2013 at 10:35 am

  4. OMG That was my go to eye shadow “palette” back in the day before I started to wear more colors etc. I wore that almost every day, ah the memories lol

    January 28, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • When I started playing with my mom’s makeup this was the first eye shadow I ever used! She was a Clinique woman through and through!

      January 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm

  5. Pingback: February Topbox featuring benefit! « eyemasq

  6. I have been looking at all of the different types of monthly boxes and I don’t know which one to get!! I heard mixed things about birchbox, there is also glossybox, and ipsy? How are you enjoying topbox ?! Katie

    February 9, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    • For the first few months I had a love/hate relationship with them. But lately, it has been all love. My February Topbox was amazing, the best yet. So I’m not going anywhere for a while yet. :)

      I’m not sure if you can actually get Topbox in the US yet though. They might expand down there at some point, but I don’t think they have yet. Just like I can’t get Birchbox up here.

      I recently signed up for ipsy and have only received one glam bag, but I loved it. And if you go to their website you can see their bags for the last several months. They seem to be consistently awesome. I can’t wait for my February glam bag. Honestly, I pay $15 a month for ipsy, for shipping to Canada and I think it is worth it. So if you can pay $10 in the US for it, I absolutely think you should!

      February 9, 2013 at 10:53 pm

      • Thank you so much for all of the info! I think i will def try ipsy glam bag! thank you :) :)

        February 10, 2013 at 5:40 pm

        • I can’t wait to see what you think! It’s mainly makeup products, with the odd skincare product. ipsy really seems like a great bang for your buck, especially if you are in the US.

          Enjoy!

          February 10, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers