A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Draw the Line: Sephora Favorites Eyeliner Sampler

Well, I’m sure this post isn’t coming as a shocker to any of you.  I’ve always been a sucker for value sets, gifts with purchases and the Sephora Favorite samplers.

Draw the Line is the 2012 eyeliner sampler from Sephora featuring 3 full size products and 3 deluxe minis.

"Draw The Line" eye liner starter kit

This set allows you to “Flick, drag, sweep, or smudge with cream, liquid or pencil.  Create countless looks with this essential black eyeliner kit.”  Available on-line or in-store this set retails for $28.00 US ($82.00 value) or $34.00 CAD ($98.00 value).

I was really excited when I saw this eyeliner sampler.  I’ve been on the hunt for a new liquid eyeliner (felt tip) as well as something that will work on my waterline.  As lovely as MAC’s fluidline glides across your lid, it has never worked well on my waterline.  In under an hour after application I will have little chunks flaking off and creating a mess under my eyes.  So now, I have a new gel liner (that is actually waterproof) as well as a couple of waterproof pencils I can put to the test.

Sephora Favorites eye liner kit

Let’s take a closer look at the products inside:

  • Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner in “Midnight Black”.  Smashbox cream liner review and swatchAt 3.4g/12oz this is one of the three full size products.  A cream eye liner like this is the favourite of many, it offers a similar look to a crisp liquid liner, but is easier to apply.  It does require an eyeliner brush though, which is not included.  Sold individually, this product would be $22.00 US or $27.00 CAD.  7 different shades available on-line or in-store.
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Waterpoof Liquid Eyeliner in shade “Perversion”.  Urban Decay 24/7 swatch and review of their liquid eyelinerAt 1.7ml this is the second of the full size products.  It is a classic liquid eye liner brush, not a felt tip applicator.  If you have a steady hand you can create gorgeous precise lines with this one.  This product, when sold individually is $19.00 US or $23.00 CAD.    11 different shades available on-line or in-store for this cult favorite.  And after just two products in , we’ve already blown the cost of this sampler set out of the water.  I love a good deal!
  • Sephora Collection’s Waterproof Retractable Eyeliner in shade “09 Glitter Black” is the last of the three full size products at 0.31g.  Sephora eyeliner reviews and swatchesIt is a vibrant black with tiny silver specks of glitter.  It comes with a smudger on the bottom end as well  if you are going for a more blended effect.  This one is available in a mere 22 shades and can be purchased on-line or in-store for $12.00 US or $16.00 CAD.
  • Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in shade “Trooper”.  review of Kat Von D's tattoo linerThis was the first product I reached for when I took off the plastic.  The felt tip pen makes drawing on perfect lines quick and easy.  The super fine tip makes any touch ups a breeze.  This water resistant product is designed for application on the face and the body.  The full size product is approximately 3 times the size of this deluxe sample and retails for $18.00 US or $22.00 CAD.  You can purchase here or in-store and choose from 5 different shades.
  • Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil is a favorite amongst beauty addicts and make up artists alike.  MUFE Aqua Eyes swatch and reviewThis award winning product also doubles as a vibrant eye shadow.  I was excited to try this matte black liner on my waterline and I’ve got to say it held up very well, with almost no signs of wear after several hours.  Aqua eyes full size pencils retail for $18.00 US or $20.00 CAD and come in 25 different colors.  
  • Buxom Insider Eyeliner in “Black Jasper” is a black metallic, retractable, velvety liner.perfect eyeliner for waterline and tightliningIts gentle design is tailored for application of  the inner rims of your eyes.  This liner contains antioxidants and vitamins to protect this delicate area.  (I know, I know, I should’ve read this and tried this one first!) It is definitely next on my list to try out on my waterline.  I might even try tight-lining for the first time!  It makes it sound like such a lovely prospect!  The full size Buxom Insider eyeliners can be purchased on-line and in-store for $14.00 US and $18.00 CAD. 8 shades give you some affordable options if you are wanting to pick this up.

I’ve swatched them all next to each other here so you can see the differences in opacity and thickness:

(click to enlarge)

Black Eyeliner swatches

I really am so impressed with the value of this set.  For a bunch of black eyeliners…you really do get the best of everything.  You have a wide variety of products with unique purposes…and you can’t beat the price no matter how you look at it.

What is your favorite black eyeliner that you can’t live without?  Every girl has got to have at least one!

xox,

Shannon

I have full swatches of their lip sampler “Give Me Some Lip” as well for anyone interested.

33 responses

  1. What an incredible way to try new eyeliners! I by the way have tried about 8 and dislike them all. :) Maybe this would be a good Christmas present for me (not for you, haha, for my husband to get me).

    November 7, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    • Haha Marisa! You should definitely put it on your wishlist. It is really inexpensive and a great way to try different types of liner. Maybe you will fall in love with one, who knows!

      November 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  2. I was JUST about to buy this set the other day! I’m totally still considering it! It looks so nice!

    November 7, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    • I certainly don’t regret this purchase in the slightest. I know I will be able to use everything in here, completely up until they are gone. Which isn’t the case with every product I purchase. But this set is great products, great variety, amazing price! So happy I have it!

      November 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  3. I usually use the MUFE but I will really use any black liner.

    November 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    • This is my first MUFE pencil and I’m really excited about having it. It is such a raved about product, I finally get to try it out for myself. :)

      November 7, 2012 at 7:13 pm

      • I like the colorful ones. They are great in the summer. I will tell you that you need to try the Tarte Amazonian ones…

        November 7, 2012 at 9:25 pm

        • I actually just got one of their holiday sets and I am insanely in love with it. The colours are really beautiful! I still need to photograph it and swatch everything. Just got it on Sunday and I am sooo behind!

          November 7, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  4. This is such an awesome set! and amazingly good value! I’m so jealous we don’t have a Sephora in the UK xxx

    November 7, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    • Ugh, that is a total bummer. Although, if I didn’t have access to a Sephora, I would have more money in my bank account every month, of that I am sure!

      November 7, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      • Haha I’d rather have makeup than money any day though!! I’m headed stateside next year and first on my to do list is shopping spree at Sephora! have been wanting to try out the KatVonD range for a while and I’ll be picking up some of these sets for sure! xxx

        November 7, 2012 at 7:53 pm

        • That is exciting!! Make sure you have lots of room in your bags! Where abouts are you headed in particular?

          November 7, 2012 at 8:55 pm

        • Oh I plan to! Its a bit of a road trip actually starting in Vegas, then going to visit family in Dallas and flying on to New York, I’m so so excited! xxx

          November 7, 2012 at 8:57 pm

        • OMG, sounds like so much fun! That is going to be amazing!! Is it a long visit?

          November 7, 2012 at 9:00 pm

        • Probably not long enough but its for 2weeks so its going to be pretty full on but I will make sure I fit a few days shopping in at least!! I honestly cannot wait! xxx

          November 7, 2012 at 9:05 pm

        • Well I’m excited for you too. Have a wonderful time! I hope you post lots of pictures on your blog from your adventure. :)

          November 7, 2012 at 9:12 pm

        • Thank you Shannon! I sure will! xxx

          November 7, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  5. DressedinMYcloset

    I need this!

    http://dressedinmycloset.wordpress.com

    November 7, 2012 at 9:26 pm

  6. Finding the right eyeliner is like a Battle! I really struggle with it! Great post! I may try a few of these x

    November 8, 2012 at 8:00 am

    • I agree, it can be like shopping for pants, a total nightmare! The set is perfect if you are interested in more than one, the value is amazing. If you were to buy any two of them individually, you’ve already paid the full price of the set. I hope you give it a try!!

      November 8, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      • I’m very tempted to!!!!! It’s a great idea!!!!

        November 10, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  7. Shannon, I love that you got this! Mine just arrived in the mail on Thursday. I was out of town on a business trip, but my Sephora box was waiting for me when I arrived home today. I already have the MUFE one, but I already love that one. I’m glad to have an extra. I’m excited to have the one from Buxom, and Smashbox and Kat Von D.

    November 10, 2012 at 2:45 am

    • I have no doubt you will absolutely adore this set, it is truly fantastic!!!

      November 10, 2012 at 9:23 am

  8. Thank you for stop by. I think your blog is fantastic.

    November 18, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    • Hey – ditto! I look forward to seeing what you have coming up. :)

      November 18, 2012 at 7:31 pm

  9. I really like Rimmel. It suits my skin type – my face gets really oily and eyeliners tend to smudge a lot for me, but not Rimmel. Lancome is really pretty too. I have also tried Revlon’s liquid liner for a less dramatic look. I think I want to give this Sephora box a try!

    November 22, 2012 at 8:04 am

    • Oh you should, you just might fall in love! It is great value and with Sephora’s 30 day no questions asked return policy, you can always return it if you aren’t happy with the quality of the liners, or if you simply find they don’t work for your skin type. If you do get it, you’ll have to let me know what you think. I’m hoping they don’t smudge for you. :)

      November 22, 2012 at 11:37 am

  10. Pingback: My Birthday Makeup « eyemasq

  11. Pingback: Feeling Sexy? A Holiday Makeup Look & Tutorial « eyemasq

  12. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

  13. This looks really good! I just bought the UD liner yesterday at Sephora! If I’d seen this I’d definately have got it instead!!Dammit :D

    December 19, 2012 at 11:47 am

    • Hey Catharina! It really is a great deal, I think they are sold out now though :(. They still have the mascara and highlight/bronzer sampler kits left though because they launched slightly afterwards. Sephora comes out with these every year though, so next year (usually in the fall I think) be sure to snatch them up quickly, they are amazing value!

      December 19, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers