A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Date Night Makeup

Life can be busy and its easy to get caught up in the tornado of the everyday.  But my husband and  I always try to set aside time for just the two of us.  We simply call them Date Nights, and try to spoil ourselves with them every week or every two weeks.  We get ourselves all cleaned up and venture out of our tiny crappy apartment to enjoy a dinner, a movie and each others company without the distractions the technology of our apartment grants us.  So last weekend we did just that.

colorful makeup look using MAC Cosmetics

I opted for a bright colorful smokey eye with a subtle lip and big curly hair for our date night.

I thought this make-up looked dramatic enough for a fun evening out, but not so intense as to be mistaken for a Halloween look.  What do you think of it??

Here is how I created this look:

Steamy and Satellite Dreams eye shadow - make up looks

  1. As always, fill in your brows first to help frame the area.  I used Mystery eyeshadow by MAC Cosmetics for this.
  2. Prime your lid and all the way up to your crease.  I used Urban Decay’s Primer Potion.  Make sure you are always using an eyeshadow primer, no matter what type of look you are going for.  It provides you long wear time and will help you avoid creasing.  Your shadows will also apply more vibrantly and stay true throughout the day/night, without “melting off”.  MAC Paint Pots or cream bases will work for this too (NYX’s eye pencil in Milk is one of the most popular).
  3. Using a flat eye shadow brush, dab Steamy eye shadow by MAC all over your lids. (from the inside of the eye to the outside of the eye).  Steamy is a frosty teal shade that glides on very smoothly and vibrantly.  Feel free to use any teal shade that you might have at home.
  4. Using a stiff dome brush use your Satellite Dreams eye shadow (or a similar purple shadow that you might already have) throughout the crease and up onto your brow bone, blending gently up and out.
  5. Then, using a fluffy crease brush, sweep a touch of black eye shadow at the outside edge of your eye and slightly up through your crease to add depth and intensify the look.  I used “Black Tied” eye shadow for this.  It is a basic black lustre shadow with silver specks.
  6. After brushing off all the black, I took that same fluffy brush and took “Brule” which is a very soft nude color close to my natural skin color and swept it around the edges of color in an attempt to soften the lines and a less blocky look.
  7. To highlight, I used “Phloof!” eye shadow by MAC.  It is a frost eye shadow perfect for highlighting your brow bone or the inner corner of your eye.  It has very slight pink undertones which makes this less harsh than a straight white frost would be.
  8. For eye liner I used Master Precise Felt Tip Liquid Liner (available at Ulta in the US and at Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada) on my lid.  I didn’t apply any on the lower side of my eyes.  I wanted to create a softer and more open look and not close off my eyes.  Instead I opted for a white waterproof pencil to brighten my waterline.  For this, I used Sephora’s 12H Waterproof Crayon Jumbo.
  9. Finish the look with at least two coats of mascara.  I used Clinique’s Lash Doubling Mascara.
  10. (Optional) Add false eyelashes to your look.  I used “Hotties” by Ardell along with the Duo eyelash glue that dries black.

Steamy and Satellite dreams makeup look

For the rest of this look:

Face > For my under eye concealer I used Erase Paste by benefit in shade No.1.  Then, all over I used Clinique’s Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer in shade 01 topped with MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in shade Light Plus.

Cheeks > a soft pink frost powdered blush from Too Faced’s “Natural Face” palette.

Lips > For my lips I started with Celebutard lipstick from Kat Von D’s Painted Love Lipstick collection.  Then, because I wanted a slightly glossier look, I decided to add on Hourglass’s “Child” from their line of Extreme Sheen High Shine Lip Glosses.

Hair > Earlier in the day, I put Flexi-Rods (Super Rollers) in my hair and by the time we were ready to go I simply pulled them out and pinned back a small portion from the front.  I love that I can get soft, non-crunchy curls without putting my hair through any heated torment.

colorful smoky eye makeup

What colours of eye shadow are you wearing this fall?  What products do you turn to for your date nights?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

14 responses

  1. wow, I absolutely love your eye look! you guys look so great, hope you had a fabulous time!! <3 I do like it with this look I will agree, I guess it was just stand alone was hard to tell without a fabulous eye look.

    November 2, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    • We did have a nice night out – thanks! I’m glad you liked Celebutard with this look, I thought it was nice for directing the attention up to the eyes instead of competing. I think a very soft light berry gloss would’ve also looked nice too, perhaps even nicer. Who knows!

      November 2, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      • LOL too much overthinking, I think it looked beautiful, I agree you don’t want it to compete with each other then it’s borderline cheap and it looks liek too much. I have seen many a woman walking or at work, etc that try to do that, and the lip color is beautiful and their eyes are too but just not together!

        November 2, 2012 at 1:53 pm

        • Definitely know what you mean, it doesn’t take much to become “too much”. Have to toe the line! :)

          November 2, 2012 at 2:18 pm

  2. You both are great! miss you two.

    November 2, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    • We miss you too! Hopefully we can come to Brazil and visit you and Iramy soon. <3

      November 2, 2012 at 3:58 pm

      • We can’t wait!! It will be much fun! :)

        November 3, 2012 at 12:01 pm

        • At least when you came here, you spoke English. We don’t know any Portuguese. Should be very interesting! <3

          November 3, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  3. OOO I like! You guys look cute together, and I think it’s great that you make an effort to dress up and spend time together :)

    November 2, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! We find that we are both so busy that if we don’t put in an effort, we get too caught up doing everything else. :)

      November 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  4. The lipstick is the perfect pale peach – I don’t think I’m familiar with the brand.

    November 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    • Hey Marisa – thanks! I wasn’t either, until I got it in a lip sampler from Sephora last year. I actually don’t believe that Kat Von D Cosmetics are sold anywhere other than at Sephora.

      November 2, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  5. Looks brilliant!!!!

    November 6, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    • Sweet of you to say – thank you! :) I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      November 6, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers