A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Jelly Sandwich Extravaganza with the Fall 2012 “Gloss” Collection by Zoya

Jelly Sandwich nails are probably my most favourite manicures.  They are simple, pretty, easy to create and the longest lasting of any manicures I’ve had.

I only had one jelly polish and was having a hard time tracking them down.  So when I heard Zoya had come out with a fall collection featuring all jellies, I was excited.  I’ve never had a Zoya polish before as they aren’t the most accessible here in Canada, but I know how popular they are south of the border.

Gloss Collection - fall 2012 - Zoya

So I decided to grab this “Gloss” Collection from nailpolishcanada.com for $24.00.  You can also purchase it for the same price online at zoya.com (if you are in the US) or ebay/amazon.  They are sold everywhere for $8.00/each or $24.00 for the set.

Fall 2012 Gloss Collection by Zoya

This collection contains Katherine, Paloma and Frida – all beautiful jewel toned jelly polishes.  They are sheer, build-able and great for layering.

Katherine

Katherine was the first shade that I tried.  It is a sheer, dark plum.

Katherine swatch - jelly polish by Zoya

One coat:

Katherine jelly polish - swatch and review

Four to Five coats are required to get mostly opaque coverage:

Katherine nail polish by Zoya - swatch and review

Using “Make a Spectacle” glitter polish from China Glaze’s new Halloween collection, I applied one top coat.

how to make jelly sandwich nails

Glitter nail polish from China Glaze 2012 Halloween Collection - "Make a Spectacle"

In order to make a jelly sandwich manicure, I added another layer of “Katherine” on top.  This gives the illusion that the glitter is floating inside the jelly polish, creating a cool 3D effect.  You can see the difference here, with and without the jelly polish on top:

what are jelly sandwich nails?

This mani ended up being a beautiful dark and vampy jelly sandwich.

dark and vampy jelly sandwich manicure

Paloma

Paloma is a nice bright fuscia jelly lacquer.

One coat:

Paloma swatch - Zoya Gloss polish

Three to four coats:

"Paloma" by Zoya - nail polish swatch and review

*I found it was slightly less sheer than the other two in the collection and required less coats to reach an opaque look.*

For this jelly sandwich manicure, I also used “Make a Spectacle” glitter nail polish from China Glaze.

Zoya's "Paloma" and China Glaze's "Make a Spectacle"

jelly sandwich nails using "Paloma" by Zoya

Frida

Frida is my favourite polish from this Gloss collection.  It is a nice rich teal.  It is however the most sheer of the three.

One coat:

"Frida" review - nail polish by Zoya

Four to five coats:

"Frida" swatch - jelly nail polish by Zoya

To make this into a jelly sandwich manicure, I used “Mermaid Tale” by Orly.

polishes to make a green/teal jelly sandwich

teal jelly sandwich nails using "Frida" nail polish by Zoya

I really love all three of the shades in this collection and they are just perfect for this time of year.  No better time to sport jewel toned polishes!  They are gorgeous with or without the jelly sandwich, but I love the little bit of fun the glitter adds to each manicure.

Remember: Removing glitter nail polish doesn’t have to be a chore.  Check out my tutorial on removing glitter nail polish – the easy way!

What is your favourite polish this fall?  Do you have a favourite from this “Gloss” collection from Zoya?

xox,

Shannon

jelly sandwich manicure using Frida and Mermaid Tale

22 responses

  1. Love the Jelly nails!!

    October 14, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Me too – definitely my favourite manicure at the moment! Have you tried them yet Samira??

      October 14, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      • Not yet… I’ll look for some jelly polish to try soon :)

        October 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      • Not yet. I’ll look for a jelly polish to try it soon!! :)

        October 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm

        • Can’t wait to see what you come up with! <3

          October 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  2. I’m not really a fan of jelly nail polishes, but I love the idea of a jelly sandwich for sure! The manis are magnificent!

    October 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    • Thanks Sunny – I really think they are a pretty elegant manicure.

      I love jelly polishes because of the texture. They glide on easily and don’t gunk up if you apply extra coats without letting them dry completely. Which works out for me very well because I’m super impatient! lol

      October 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  3. Very pretty jellies

    October 14, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      Thanks Amanda – I think so too. I’m absolutely in love with this gloss collection of jelly polishes.

      October 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  4. looks great! i absolutely love the combos with make a spectacle! never would have thought to use an opalescent type glitter for a jelly sandwich. thanks for the inspiration!

    October 14, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      Hey Holly – thanks! I loved them with Make a Spectacle too. I was so pleasantly surprised with how the first jelly sandwich turned out, I NEEDED to use it again. lol

      Seriously though, jelly sandwich manicures are my favourite. I find they hold up so well to regular wear and tear. They always take way longer to get chips and start looking beaten up. I’m so glad I picked up this collection! I’m very happy with my first Zoya polishes!!

      October 14, 2012 at 8:56 pm

  5. Pingback: Jelly Sandwich Nails « eyemasq

  6. Miranda R.

    I absolutely love the dark plum shade Katherine. It’s a very pretty color! They all look nice, but that one is my favorite.

    October 15, 2012 at 11:51 am

    • Thanks Miranda! I really love that one too, hence why I chose to try it out first! I think it is the most versatile and it looks great with everyhting, no matter what you are wearing.

      October 15, 2012 at 12:25 pm

  7. Izy

    Love all 3 colours, but I have to say, the Katherine colour is my Fave too! Especially in the picture with the nice thick drop… :)

    October 15, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • ShannonBearzatto

      Hehe – it makes sense that you like that picture best, seeing as you were the all-star nail polish brush holder in that picture. Nice button Iz!

      October 15, 2012 at 12:39 pm

  8. Pingback: Wicked: a China Glaze collection for Halloween 2012 « eyemasq

  9. I’ve never tried jelly sandwich nails- definitely going to try it for my next mani :D

    October 28, 2012 at 11:46 am

    • Hey Kayin, thanks for checking out my blog too. :) Jelly sandwiches are probably my favourite manicure of the moment. Because they aren’t too over the top, but they are still fun and pretty.

      I can’t wait to see what you come up with, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!! You’ll have to let me know what you think!

      October 28, 2012 at 12:32 pm

  10. Pingback: Two halves of a whole: a black and silver nail marble « eyemasq

  11. Pingback: Color Club’s “Winter Affair” set of mini nail lacquers « eyemasq

  12. Wow youjust sold me on mermaid tale for my soon to arrive frida :)

    March 24, 2013 at 12:37 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers