A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Flexi Rods (a no-heat, no-hairspray way to curl your hair)

I think after my “How to get a full head of crimped hair (in 10 minutes or less)” and “Headband curls (my first attempt and my failure)” posts, I illustrated how much I prefer having crimped or curly hair to my everyday straight and boring hair.  In response to those posts, a fellow blogger, Fancieland, mentioned that I should give Flexi Rods a try.  I immediately started doing a bit of research and was certain I had seen them at Sally Beauty Supply, but didn’t know anyone who had used them.  So, the next time I went into Sally’s I decided to grab a pack and give it a go.

What are they?

Flexi Rods or Super Rollers are a no-heat method for curling your hair…and who doesn’t love that?!  They are soft flexible foam rods that are easily mould-able and can hold your hair in place, which over time create curls without the use of heat.

I purchased the Super Rollers Gray 11/16″ by HairArt, you get 10 in a package.

Super Rollers - 11/16" thick

The website shows them at $8.49 US and I’m pretty sure I paid $11.99 CAD in store.

They do offer other sizes as well if you want an even tighter curl.  At first I was skeptical, but I figured for the price, if it worked out, I would be thrilled.  To be safe, I decided I should also pick up some setting lotion while I was there, as that was recommended in the research I did.  You can grab something like this Lottabody Olive Oil Setting Lotion at Sally Beauty Supply, if you are close by, but if not, Wal-Mart and drug stores also carry different brands that should work for you.

Setting Lotion for using flexi rods

This particular brand (I can’t speak for others as this is the first I’ve ever had) is a concentrated formula and requires that you mix it with water.  So I followed the directions for normal hair and did 3 parts water to 1 part Lottabody.  It states that you should use 5 parts water to 1 part Lottabody for color treated hair.  The best thing I found for this is to just mix it straight in a spritz water bottle.  To measure the parts I actually used the cap to ensure I was using a consistent amount each time of both Lottabody and water.

So assuming you have your mixture already made, I would allow about 6-7 minutes to put them in.  You want to start with dry or slightly damp hair.  The first time I tried to use these my hair was too wet and didn’t dry completely throughout the night, it didn’t work out too well!  This time, my hair was 100% dry when I started.

flexi rod tutorial

Next, you want to grab a section of hair.  You need quite a lot as you only have 10 rollers in a pack.  I was actually worried about one pack (10 rods) being enough, considering my hair is quite long and thick.  But to my surprise, it was more than enough.  As I was doing this, I just tried to imagine my hair in 10 sections, 4 on each side and two in the back.  Once you have your section of hair, spritz it once or twice (depending on how thick your hair is) with your mixture of setting lotion and water.  Take a brush or comb and brush it through that section of hair so it is evenly lightly damp.  Wrap your hair around the centre of the flexi rod and roll it all the way up tight against your head.  Then, simply fold the ends in to hold it in place.

how to put flexi rods in your hair

Repeat all over your head until you look something like this:

flexi rod tutorial

As you can see, I went to bed with mine in, but you can of course do this while you are milling around the house as well.  You just need to leave them in until your hair is completely dry…so depending on length, thickness and size of rod, that will be dependent on the person and the situation.

So the next morning when I woke up, it only took about 2 minutes to remove the flexi rods and I had giant ringlets everywhere there had been a rod.

how to get curls with no heat

So all I did was gently run my fingers through the curls breaking them up and my hair looked like this:

how to get curls by using super rollers from Sally Beauty Supply

I didn’t put any product in my hair at this time and I didn’t use any hair spray at all.  I wanted to see how the curls lasted throughout the day on their own.

curls with flexi rods/super rollers

By the time I got home from work (9 hours later) the curls were much more relaxed, but they were still very evident and added a great deal of body and shape to my hair.

I wish I’d taken pictures for day 2…but I woke up the next day with curls still (much like the 9 hour picture above), brushed them out and enjoyed a nice wavy look for an additional day.

The verdict:

  • Incredible results
  • Quick and easy
  • Inexpensive
  • Much less effort than using hot rollers, a straightner, curling iron or rod to curl your hair
  • Less damaging than using other more common methods containing heat
  • You don’t need hairspray to hold the curls, so your hair doesn’t need to be crunchy all day

The only possible draw back I see:

  • For me, the most convenient time to use these is overnight while I am sleeping…I love being able to wake up the next day for work and having my hair look great without taking me any time at all.  But that means, you have to be able to sleep with these in your hair.  They are a bit uncomfortable obviously, but I found it easy to get used to them and have had no problems sleeping with them.  I have seen some peoples reviews saying they can’t sleep with them.  So keep that in mind when deciding if this product is right for you.

Do I recommend Flexi Rods/Super Rollers?  

Absolutely.  For me, they are a fabulous no-heat and no-hairspray method for getting gorgeous curls.  I see myself using these on a regular basis, once a week.

Tell me, have you tried these already?  What do you think?  Do you have any problem sleeping with them in?

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

27 responses

  1. You have SUCH long and luscious hair, Shannon! It’s amazing!

    September 14, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    • You are too sweet Sunny – thank you! I think my hair is so healthy because most days I do nothing with it…so it doesn’t have to put up with much harsh heat…and because it is so straight I rarely blow dry it, which helps.

      September 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  2. O wow ghese are awesome

    September 15, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    • I was super happy with the results. And it was so fast to do right before bed. I’m so happy I got these! You have naturally curly hair though don’t you?

      September 15, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      • I do. Yes i usually atraighten it haha

        September 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

        • I’ve always wanted naturally curly hair and I imagine you’ve always wanted naturally straight hair? People always seem to want what they don’t have. :P

          September 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm

        • Sure do haha. When my hair is short like it is now its so mich lighterand easier to do curly, so latelty its been curly only takes me about 7,inutes to do

          September 15, 2012 at 2:58 pm

        • Yeah, I can imagine with it being nice and short it is much more manageable and takes less work than it would with super long hair.

          September 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  3. Genevieve

    Just how uncomfortable are these to sleep in? I usually sleep on my stomach and side. I’ve tried Curlformers, which I don’t recommend because the cost so much (and if you have thick hair you need a BUNCH!). Anyways, the break and pull your hair, are quite painful to sleep in, and are a butt to take out. I’ve also tried velcro rollers, which aren’t very good either. They’re horrible to sleep in, didn’t work the way I wanted to, and got super tangled when I tried to take them out. I’m skeptical about flexirods, but I’m willing to try them :) I never had any luck with sockbun curls, the only thing it did was make the ends of my hair frizz out and look kinky. Buns and braids don’t do much for me either… I have thick, long and straightish hair

    December 2, 2012 at 12:36 am

    • Hi Genevieve! I’m not going to lie to you and say they are like sleeping on a cloud, but I really don’t find them too bad. I move around a fair amount when I sleep, rolling from one side to the other usually. With that being said, I would just have to keep them flat against my head and find a comfortable position and then try not to move around too much once I find that comfortable position. So my sleep was a little bit more disjointed than usual, the first time, but bearable and totally worth it in my opinion considering the results. They are made of foam and fairly squishy, so I can’t imagine that they would be in the same realm as velcro rollers (but I can’t say for sure as I’ve never slept with rollers on).

      The great thing about these, is they only cost about $10, so it isn’t a huge investment and waste of money if you don’t end up liking them. Even with long thick hair you will still only need a pack of 10 or 12 (whatever is standard in the brand you are looking at). I was really worried about that, but it ended up being more than enough. They are also really easy to take out and I don’t find they break or pull my hair.

      The results themselves from these Super Rollers are phenomenal. The curls are always huge, plentiful and long lasting even without hair spray. I find myself using them on weekends during the day as well. If I know I am going out that night, I can pop them in a few hours in advance for around the house while I am doing whatever, and by the time comes that I need to get ready, my hair is already done and good to go. Over the past few months I can safely say that I actually use them in this type of situation more than over night.

      Genevieve, I hope this helps in your decision of whether these are right for you. :) Good luck!

      December 2, 2012 at 11:55 am

      • Genevieve

        Thank you! I think I’ll try these as soon as I can get to the store! I’m trying a different way of doing headband curls right now, it’s rather complicated but I’m hoping it works out!

        December 2, 2012 at 4:37 pm

        • I really hope they work out for you, if you remember, maybe you can come back and let me know how you make out! :)

          It’s about time I gave the headband curls another try again too. There are a couple of things I want to adjust next time I try them, for starters making sure my hair is good and damp instead of dry.

          Good luck Genevieve! :)

          December 2, 2012 at 4:49 pm

  4. Santana Primeaux

    Would this also be great to do with a perm for the lasting look?

    December 4, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    • I honestly don’t know too much about perming, so I’m not sure how these would work for that. But I wouldn’t think the foam rods would hold up against the acidic formula of a perm solution. I think that is why perm rods are typically plastic? So I’m really not sure Santana, sorry!

      December 4, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  5. Genevieve

    Hey Shannon! I tried the super rods last night, and it was horrible! My hair was weirdly kinky and randomly straight on certain pieces of hair. I started with dampish hair, put in some anti-frizz/ breakage serum and mousse, rolled up my hair and slept on them. I don’t get what I did wrong! Please help!

    December 6, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    • Hi Genevieve, I’m so glad you came back!

      Did you use a set of 10? Were they thick ones like mine, or thinner?

      The only time I’ve experienced something like what you are describing was actually with hot rollers. If I just unroll them, my curls will lose shape completely and get that kinky/straight sectioned look. In order to avoid that, I actually began not unrolling them at all. Now I only make small circular motions in the direction of the curl (holding it vertically) to get the curl to loosen and then pull the rod/roller straight out the bottom. I find that has helped my curls hold shape. Its hard to describe, so I found a video to show what I mean. At about 2:30-3:00 in this one she is pulling them out instead of unrolling them:

      Not sure if this helps, or if that was what you were doing already. But this technique makes a huge difference for me. Without removing them like this, hot rollers are a mess for me. And I’ve only ever removed Flexi Rods the same way. I am hoping maybe this will be helpful for you too! I really wish I could see pictures so I could be more help.

      How did you find sleeping with them? Manageable?

      December 6, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  6. Genevieve

    Thanks for the video! This is pretty much how I remove them…I do use 10 3/4″ diameter super rollers. I used all of them last night. I also kind of had problems keeping the ends tucked into the roller. I found sleeping on them much more comfortable them I thought they would be! Much much much better them any other method I’ve tried! I’m still not sure what to do though. I can’t send a picture because, after my little panic attack this morning lol, I just dampened my hair and let it dry, which got it back to my regular texture.

    December 6, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    • Hmmn, I wonder if it was because they were a little looser. Or maybe a setting lotion would help hold your curls too. Or does mousse normally work well for you with other no-heat curling methods? I haven’t tried it, so I’ve got no clue! I actually haven’t tried super rollers without my setting lotion either, so I am curious if it makes a big difference. When I did my initial research with them, everyone seemed to be using it. Maybe it is the missing crucial element. I’m not sure. :(

      Maybe if you try again and end up with the same results send me some pictures so I can try to help you find a solution. It might be something that has happened to me before.

      I’m really glad to hear you slept with them no problem though. They really aren’t too uncomfortable, but yet I’ve seen some people saying they are impossible to sleep in. I guess it is different for everyone.

      December 6, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  7. Genevieve

    That was actually the first time I had used mousse, I was hoping it would work in place of the setting lotion. I watched a Youtube video of a girl who used the same exact mousse and rolled her hair in super rollers. I’ll just try again and see what happens :)

    December 6, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • I have my fingers crossed for you. I can’t wait to hear how it goes Genevieve! Good luck!! :)

      December 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm

  8. Genevieve

    So I tried again, and it worked! Well sort of. The curls I got were very large and loose, not really the look I was going for. But I think I figured out what my problem is! My hair isn’t quite long enough to wrap around the width of the roller enough to really make “curls”. Anyways, I’m going to return the ones I have and exchange them for a smaller diameter :)

    December 9, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    • YAY! Sounds like you’ve gotten to the bottom of the mystery! I’m so glad you were able to find a way to make them work. There is a huge variety of sizes, so one of them should be the right fit for you. :D

      December 9, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  9. Genevieve

    I’m so happy, this morning I took them out and my hair was so pretty. Some or the curls were kinky, but I just twisted them around my finger and BAM! Amazing curls!

    December 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    • That’s amazing news Genevieve, I’m so happy to hear it! This totally made my day. :) Now you have a comfortable way to get curls over night and aren’t damaging your hair with heat. Very happy!!

      December 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm

  10. Pingback: Feeling Festive? A Christmas Makeup Look « eyemasq

  11. Angharad

    Do they work on thick hair? Because whenever I attempt to curl my hair it turns out like a big poof-ball! It would be nice for a pretty curly outcome for once

    August 2, 2013 at 5:37 am

    • I have fairly thick hair and ended up with great results. If your hair is way thicker than mine, then you might need to use more rods, but they should still give you similar results. :) Good luck! Let me know how you make out!

      August 9, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers