A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Jelly Sandwich Nails

A very popular nail trend right now is the Jelly Sandwich Manicure.  I’m seeing it everywhere and can’t help but think it is insanely cute.

What you need to create jelly sandwich nails:

  • 1 jelly nail polish
  • 1 glitter nail polish *personally I think the bigger the glitter, the cuter this look*

what you need for jelly sandwich nails

Jelly nail polishes aren’t the most common type of polish, but they are made to be layered (expect to use several coats).  They are sheer, ultra shiny and the colours will become more vibrant as you add more coats.  Jelly nail polishes are super nice to work with, they glide on easy, spread easily and you never have to worry about streaking or consistency problems.

The jelly sandwich manicure is when you use a jelly nail polish and layer glitter in between it.

How my first attempt turned out:

Jelly Sandwich nail tutorial

Confused?  Don’t be!

  1. Start out with a sheer jelly polish of your choice, I went with Loreal’s “Wishful Pinking” nail color.  It is a soft sheer baby pink.  Paint your nails with 3 coats (at least) of your jelly polish.  I used 4 coats to achieve the base colour I wanted (shown here): Pink Jelly Nail Polish
  2. Let them dry completely.
  3. Apply 1 coat of your glitter nail polish.  The important thing here is to select a glitter polish that has a clear base and only the glitter itself is coloured.    If you use just a standard glitter with a coloured base, it will just cover your jelly nail polish that you used as a base and you won’t even be able to see it.  Your jelly sandwich manicure is ruined!   I learned this the hard way, take a look at what happened when I tried to use Some Like It Haute by China Glaze.   how NOT to make jelly sandwich nailsFor my successful Jelly Sandwich, I used essie “Set in Stones” luxeffects nail polish, shown here: tutorial for jelly sandwich nails
  4. Once your glitter is set, go ahead and apply 1 coat of your jelly nail polish on top.  This creates the “sandwiched” look in your manicure (where the glitter looks like it is inside the jelly polish.)how to create jelly sandwich nails

What do you guys think?  Have you tried out this hot new nail trend already?  Or do you want to?

Personally, I can’t wait to go find some super giant glitter polishes.  Does anyone have a favourite that they recommend?

Tutorial for Jelly sandwich nails

Thanks for reading!

xox,

Shannon

For more Jelly Sandwich nails, please click here!

18 responses

  1. One more trend to my blog!! :)

    May 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  2. Love it!!! I’m not big on neither neutral jellies nor glitter, but together it’s adorable!

    May 24, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Thanks Sunny! I’m the same, normally I don’t do soft colours like this one…but with the small touch of glitter…I just love it!

      May 24, 2012 at 8:29 pm

  3. Love this! Pressing another one of your lovely posts!

    May 24, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    • Thanks Jasmine! I’m so glad you like it!! I love that it is a soft and feminine mani. Most of the time, I’m rather “in your face” and this is a nice alternative. :)

      May 24, 2012 at 8:31 pm

      • You’re welcome! I agree it definitely does have a softer feel.

        May 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  4. Pingback: Does Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadow really last 24 hours? (Full Pictures) « eyemasq

  5. Hi Shannon – I love your blog, as I am addicted to shopping for all things cosmetic, so I routinely stalk your posts from Cowtown :) Question though – are jelly polishes actually a separate type of polish? I haven’t heard the term before, sorry.

    May 31, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    • Tisha – hi! So glad you enjoy the blog, I have a lot of fun doing it!!!

      Jelly polishes are found with all of the other ones in store, but they are a different thickness and consistency. You can notice them right away if you know what you are looking for. Might be best to ask someone that works in the cosmetic department to show you which ones are which.

      They appear like a regular solid coloured polish at first, but when you look closer, you can see it is sheer and has more of a jelly consistency. (It takes 5-6 coats to actually reach an opaque look.)

      Hopefully that is somewhat helpful! Lots of people have been asking about them, I should take a picture next time I’m near a display so I can explain it better to people. How are the twins?!?!

      May 31, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  6. I love this look! So cute. I’m definitely going to try this, I have been trying to be more adventurous with my nails lately! xx

    June 3, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Amelia! Be sure to let me know what you think! I hope you like it :)

      June 3, 2012 at 7:54 pm

  7. Thanks for this post! this has inspired me to do a jelly sandwhich nail look! I’ve never heard of it till now! :)

    June 16, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • Oh my goodness, you are in for a treat! They are so much fun and seriously last forever! I was on 8 days without a single sign of wear, but my nails were growing out and I was ready for a change…who knows how long this mani would’ve lasted if I was less impatient. I hope you enjoy it! I would love to see what you come up with! :)

      June 16, 2012 at 8:43 am

  8. Pingback: Nails fit for a mermaid « eyemasq

  9. cute! Try Deborah Lippmann… there’s a tone of giant glitter polishes there!

    October 13, 2012 at 4:10 am

    • Awesome, thanks for the tip! I don’t have any of her polishes so I will have to try them. :)

      October 13, 2012 at 10:10 am

  10. Pingback: Jelly Sandwich Extravaganza with the Fall 2012 “Gloss” Collection by Zoya « eyemasq

  11. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

    May 1, 2013 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers