A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

I drank the Kool-Aid

Orgasm Blush by NARS is a cult favourite among beauty bloggers, makeup artists and beauty lovers alike.  It is one of the most talked about cosmetic products out there, often described as the most universally flattering blush that looks good on every skin tone.  This blush experienced such wide spread success, even with its high price point, that NARS created an entire line of cosmetics in the Orgasm shade.  They created matching nail polish, lip gloss, illuminators, etc etc.  So I finally drank the Kool-Aid and decided to give it a try.

Orgasm Blush

NARS Orgasm Blush is best described as a sheer peachy-pink pressed powder blush with small gold flecks.  It goes on nice and sheer, is very natural looking, and gives you a healthy sun kissed glow.  I’ve been using it all week and absolutely love it – you will see it popping up in some upcoming looks very soon!

Pinky-Peach Blush

Peachy-Pink Blush

Here you can see how sheer and natural looking this blush really is. On the left you can see what Orgasm looks like blended out.

Where does NARS Orgasm Blush get its name?

NARS Orgasm Blush was created to give you a completely natural looking flush.  Or perhaps it could be referred to as an *clears throat* afterglow.

I’ve also heard of Super Orgasm, what is that?  

Super Orgasm is another peachy-pink NARS blush, but it contains larger gold flecks.  So if you love your shimmer, be sure to check out Super Orgasm too!

Where can I get it?

In Canada, the best source of NARS Cosmetics is Sephora.  <- That link is showing US dollars, but it will convert to Canadian dollars upon checkout ($32.00).  Or, you can always make your way to the nearest Sephora Store to check out the products in person.  Many Bay locations also have NARS counters as well.  And because NARS is a Canadian cosmetic company, you can also order directly from their website, they offer free shipping on all orders over $100.00.  I must say though that I prefer Sephora.  You get to check out the product first in store if you like, you collect points, get free samples and it is the same price – you can’t really go wrong!

Thanks for reading everyone!

xox,

Shannon

29 responses

  1. i love it too!

    March 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

    • It really is just one of those shades that everyone can love. Thanks for commenting!

      March 25, 2012 at 11:56 am

  2. I don’t have the blush, but I have the illuminator and it really does look good, all the time. I want to try the blush soon, but I think I’d rather try their face palette that’s like USD$90.

    March 25, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    • Yeah, almost every NARS value set has this blush in it. Definitely worth it if you see yourself using the other products!

      March 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  3. it is a beautiful color, but somehow for me i didn’t love it on myself:( i would try it again some day tho…

    March 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    • For me, although I won’t use it everyday, it certainly has a nice peachy tone, without going to a peach blush. And in the past…where I either wear pink blush or bronzer…this is a nice cross over for me. I think I will get a lot of use out if it this summer with the gold flecks. To me, it seems perfect for being outside in the sun. Not sure I would wear it all that much in winter. I guess we will see!

      March 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      • right. that could be why i didnt fall for it, because it was a few months ago in the middle of winter. so maybe the gold flecks just didn’t work for then cuz it’s a stunning color.

        March 25, 2012 at 1:21 pm

        • It certainly might be worth a second try now that the sun is out! Let me know if you end up changing your mind!

          March 25, 2012 at 1:23 pm

        • ;)

          March 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm

  4. *gasp* NARS is Canadian? *new fondness for NARS* haha

    March 25, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    • I’m not 100% where I heard that and I’m trying to confirm it now. The founder was born in France, but the products are all made in Canada……so does that make it Canadian?

      March 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm

  5. I’m on the fence with this blush, I so want to try it and I love the color but the price :(

    March 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    • The great thing is, if you purchase at a place like Sephora, they will take back any product you don’t like within 30 days of purchase with the receipt. So you might as well give it a try…and if you don’t see the value or haven’t fallen in love, just return it and get your money back.

      March 25, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  6. Haha Shannon you cracked me up!

    I’ve heard TOO MUCH about NARS blushes now (especially Orgasm), but last year when I went to the US I swatched the Danmari palette at a Sephora and found the majority of the shades too shimmery for my taste. I think I was really put off by Super Orgasm, but maybe Orgasm is OK… Hmm… One more thing on my wish list! xx

    March 26, 2012 at 3:11 am

    • Yeah, Super Orgasm is insane, I must say that I wasn’t a big fan of it at all when I was in Sephora. I do really love Orgasm though, now that it is Spring and you are out in the sun more!

      March 26, 2012 at 8:48 am

  7. I still haven’t tried this cult favorit but I might add it to my list soon

    March 26, 2012 at 10:22 am

    • I hope you do – I would love to hear what you think of it!

      March 26, 2012 at 12:19 pm

  8. Beautiful shade! Have tried the NARS “The Multiple” in Orgasm before and loved it!

    March 26, 2012 at 9:00 pm

  9. frenchtippedwanderlust

    I’ve always been curious abuot this! My friend just bought the double one that is Orgasm blush on one side and bronzer right next to it. I think I mighttt have to splurge on this soon! Do you find that the gold blends in pretty well, or is it pretty visible after application?

    March 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

  10. frenchtippedwanderlust

    And thanks for the info!! It sounds like really great blush, I just was a bit worried about looking glittery, but if its only noticeable outside that sounds really lovely! I’m definitely gonna put it on the wishlist :)

    March 27, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • Thanks for the link! And absolutely, I think you will end up liking it. It is super soft looking. Not once have I seen it and thought “Oh my God, I have glitter on my face!!”

      March 27, 2012 at 9:38 am

      • frenchtippedwanderlust

        Perfect!! :)

        March 27, 2012 at 9:42 am

  11. I have an ELF blush & Bronzer duo that is supposed to be a dupe for NARS and I adore it. I’m sure I would die over the real NARS version!

    March 27, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    • ELF is something I have had a hard time falling in love with. I bought an eyeshadow/blush palette from them a couple of years ago and was very underwhelmed, haven’t gone back since…perhaps it is something I should look at again. A lot can change in two years.

      March 27, 2012 at 4:26 pm

  12. Pingback: Feeling Soft and Sweet? « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers