A shade of the dramatic, where different is all there is.

Zero Gravity

I promised several weeks ago that I would post some looks using the Urban Decay Book of Shadows IV Palette.  I’ve been slacking and just finally got to playing with the colours last night.  So here is my first concoction:

The main shade I wanted to make sure I incorporated was the deep rich purple, Gravity.  Without making the look super dark I went on a hunch and paired it up with some of the neutrals that have a pink undertone.  It ended up blending together nicely.  What I love most about this look, is that it is still very dramatic drawing focus to the eyes, but not overly dark and heavy looking.

Purple Smokey Eye

Urban Decay Eyeshadows

Face > Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in shade 118 (I actually just purchased this and will likely give this foundation it’s own post very soon.)  Then I topped my foundation with MAC’s Light Plus Studio Careblend Pressed Powder.

Cheeks > Dollymix by MAC

Lips > Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Fame

Brows > As always I filled with Mystery Eyeshadow by MAC

Eye Primer > Mary Kay Eye Primer

Eyeliner > 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Perversion by Urban Decay.  (A fantastic liner, I absolutely love the brush on it!  Just be sure to stick to a gel liner or pencil for your waterline, because this will chip off and make a mess just like every other liquid liner you try there.)

Mascara > Clinique’s Lash Doubling Mascara in black

Shadows > All Urban Decay: First I dusted Skimp Eyeshadow all over my lids and up to my brows as a base.  I then covered my lids in Midnight Cowgirl Eyeshadow (this is super glittery, beware of fallout sparkles).   I lightened up the inner half of my lids with Missionary Eyeshadow and filled the crease and outer edge with Gravity Eyeshadow.  I then used Zephyr to highlight both the inner corner of my eyes as well as the brow bones.

Urban Decay Purple Smokey Eye

To review the aforementioned shades:

Urban Decay Eyeshadows

(For full swatches and an in depth look at the Urban Decay Book of Shadows IV Palette, please visit my old post here.)

Gravity, Skimp, Midnight Cowgirl and Missionary EyeshadowsPurple Smokey Eye Look

I liked this look a lot and for the most part found the shadows really easy to work with to achieve the look and blend I was going for.  I really love the neutrals offered in this palette and how they compliment dark intense colours like Gravity.  I look forward to playing with this palette again really soon.  Let me know if there are any colours or combinations you want to see!

xox,

Shann

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses

  1. I LOVE purple! It looks really nice on you!

    January 23, 2012 at 8:20 am

  2. Pingback: All About Eyes Palette « eyemasq

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers